Years Of Tyrants – Leading the Blind


Review by Dan Perks

Kaotoxin Recordings

This review could be really easy. I could sum up this album in a word: awesome. There it is done.

But I suppose I should give a little bit more detail about the band and album. Years of Tyrants are a 5-piece technical death metal outfit hailing from France and Leading the blind is the band’s debut album recorded by their original line-up. Produced back in 2010, Leading the Blind stayed unreleased until Kaotoxin Recordings signed the band. Leading the Blind is a brilliant exhibition of technical death metal with some deathcore elements. There is a distinct connection between Years of Tyrants and bands such as Despised Icon, Beneath the Massacre and Necrophagist. The mere mention of those bands should give you an idea of what to expect from this album, and just how good it is.

The album opens with ‘Stronger Than All’, a short but utterly brutal assault of blast drumming, tremolo picking and dissident nuances. There is no let-up as the album tears into ‘Through Infamy’ and ‘Infestation Of Larvae’. This initial onslaught is paused only by a short interlude which may not be as heavy as the first three tracks but is still far from mellow. At just under a minute long, the interlude serves as a display of the bands technicality. Staccato riffs and Meshuggah-esque grooves lay the foundations for the second half of the album. Shortly after the interlude is probably my favourite track on the album. ‘Euthanasia’ is superb example of technical deathcore at its best. It’s frantic, aggressive, heavy and the musicianship notably superb. Years Of Tyrants are one of the most exciting death metal bands I’ve heard in a while. Hopefully now they are signed to a label, we will find them on tours such as the Bonecrusher Fest.

Years of Tyrants - Leading The Blind8 out of 10

Track listing:

  1. Stronger Than All
  2. Through Infamy
  3. Infestation Of Larvae
  4. Interlude
  5. Euthanasia
  6. This World Is Ours
  7. Leading The Blind
  8. This Is Meat
  9. Of Those Who Wasted It All



Comments are closed.