The Shaking Sensations – Start Stop Worrying


Review by Paul Broome

Pelagic Records

The Shaking Sensations is less a moniker and more a sensory description of the way listeners to this album respond. An instrumental post-rock outfit from Denmark, Start Stop Worrying is the band’s second full-length release – following on from their 2011 debut East Of Youth – and it’s quite a piece of work.

It’s going to be difficult to encapsulate this album in mere words… If you’re already initiated into the heady world of instrumental post-rock then I could mention the likes of Mogwai, Maybeshewill, Explosions In The Sky, and Godspeed You! Black Emperor and you’d pretty much know what to expect. For the uninitiated imagine delicate interweaving guitar melodies, swathes of reverb wrapped around delicate trills and paradiddles; quiet valleys bordered by crashing mountains, thrashing white waters and placid depths… and you’d be starting to get the picture.

Having said that there’s also something evocatively Scandinavian buried deep in The Shaking Sensations sound (perhaps that’s why my description above quickly shifted to one of a natural wilderness…) – a Viking sensibility to the orchestrated onslaught that emerges from the waves of sound every now and then. It’s a unique quality that defiantly sets them apart from their peers.

And yet, after speaking of defiance and onslaught, on first listen this album already felt like an old-friend. It is both spellbinding and comforting, staggering and impressive, but at the same time warm and down to Earth. Closing track ‘Heavy Entity’ is the perfect conclusion and summation, evolving from a single heavily reverbed guitar into a ten-minute invocation to the skies. A track with a vista so epic and vivid you can almost smell the tundra.

This really is a beautiful and captivating piece of work, and if you’re a fan of any of the bands I mentioned above then I recommend you pick this album up. If you’re not already a fan of this particular genre, then I’m not sure that there’s anything here that will win you over to it. Although having said that, if you were in the market for your first instrumental post-rock album – this wouldn’t be a bad place to start. Personally I love it, and will certainly be investing in the band’s back catalogue.

Something is rotten in the state of Denmark. But it’s not this album.

The Shaking Sensations – Start Stop Worrying8 out of 10

Track listing:

  1. Rocket Summer
  2. We Ourselves Alone
  3. Anchors
  4. Gild The Lily
  5. Ravelin
  6. Heavy Entity