Stormzone – Seven Sins


And you thought it couldn’t get any better…

Review by Debbie Gough

Metal Nations Ltd

Release Date: 3 August 2015

A collective overdue sigh of relief floods the streets of Northern Ireland as Stormzone release their fifth studio album, Seven Sins. Finally the world is exposed to Irish musicians with more flair than what the country has farted out in previous years! (That one’s aimed at you U2! Your music automatically being downloaded into the lives every poor soul with an iPhone wasn’t quite necessary but thank you anyway).

Overflowing with guitar solos meatier than Tesco’s cheeky horse beef and vocals which erect the hairs on the back of your neck (what else did you think I was going to say?), this album is undeniably the band’s best material released to date. The intentions for Seven Sins to be a belter are made prominent even from the first few seconds of the opening track, ‘Bathsheba’, introducing the perfect combination of metal and Irish folk. Although the visualisation of a little green Leprechaun dancing in a field of three leaved clovers swiftly vanishes as the likes of ‘Your Time Has Come’ and ‘I Know Your Pain’ spiral into full effect, the innovation expressed during this album does not. ‘Special Brew’ further demonstrates how this band have developed while remaining to embellish their new pieces of work with similar licks which cast our memories back to 2013’s Three Kings.

As galloping rhythms smoothly attend to John ‘Harv’ Harbinson’s vocals, it’s safe to state that any fan of Iron Maiden would be frothing at the mouth at Stormzone. After they proved a popular act while part of Saxon’s 2014 UK tour, these new tracks will systematically infuse even more dynamism into their live performances. And you thought it couldn’t get any better…

Stormzone – SevenSins20158 out of 10

Track Listing:

  1. Bathsheba
  2. Another Rainy Night
  3. Your Time Has Come
  4. The One That Got Away
  5. I Know Your Pain
  6. Seven Sins
  7. You’re Not The Same
  8. Raise The Knife
  9. Abandoned Souls
  10. Special Brew
  11. Master Of Sorrow
  12. Born Of The Damned