Signal Rex: Snorri + Segregación Primordial + Blood Chalice


Signal Rex LogoThree cassette-only releases from the Portuguese label

MR’s resident consumer of blackened nastiness, Jason Guest lends his surely-they-must-be-pulp-by-now ears to three recent cassette-only releases from Portugal’s purveyors of music and art without borders, Signal Rex (website, Facebook, Bandcamp):

  • Snorri – Putrid Black Fucking Metal
  • Segregación Primordial – I
  • Blood Chalice – Demo 2016

Snorri – Putrid Black Fucking Metal

Release: 8 July 2016

The debut demo from Australia’s Snorri does exactly what it says on the tin: putrid black fucking metal. Recorded in a cave, released on cassette, destined to burn in the underground for eternity, this is raw, filthy and ruthlessly fierce. Ablaze with rapid riffs, blast beats aplenty and a reverb-drenched gruesome vocal, while the obligatory ambient opener ‘Exorcism Masturbation’ and the black metal blast of ‘Black Fucking Mass’ are standard fare, the chaotic mass that is ‘Homo Homini Lupus’ is an outstanding barrage of disorder and turmoil enhanced by the low-fi quality of the recording. A feat in itself. The cacophony continues with ‘Abel De Larue’, its densely-clouded and clotted air cloying, and closing track ‘Into The Endless Dark’, at an all-too-short 74-seconds, casting us into the maelstrom. An intriguing and vicious experience.

Snorri – Putrid Black Fucking Metal7 out of 10

Track list:

  1. Exorcism Masturbation
  2. Black Fucking Mass
  3. Homo Homini Lupus
  4. Abel De Larue
  5. Into The Endless Darkness

Segregación Primordial – I

Release: 8 July 2016

Revelling on the muck and the mire and malevolence of the Chilean death metal underground since 2011, Segregación Primordial like it raw. Savage, devastating and devouring in its ruthless brutality, the four tracks here blaze at fuck-you miles-per-hour and burn with a blackened and scorched intensity that is curiously pleasing. A six-minute ‘Intro’ whose esoteric mysteries grow into utter devastation followed by the manic and near-chaotic eight- and ten-minute ‘Autocontemplacion’ and ‘Immersion’ is a sickening and disturbing experience. But it’s with ‘Bonus’ (really? They couldn’t come up with a title?) where the band’s skills converge. What Segregación Primordial do with this colossal chunk of cacophonous and enigmatic might is phenomenal. Where the other track sometimes suffer from the lo-fi recording, here it serves the piece in its entirety.

Segregación Primordial – I7 out of 10

Track list:

  1. Intro
  2. Autocontemplacion
  3. Immersion
  4. Bonus

Blood Chalice – Demo 2016

Release: 8 July 2016

Savage. Ruthless. Relentless. Remorseless. Vicious. I could go on listing adjective after adjective that would somehow but not quite approximate the experience of this debut demo from Finland’s Blood Chalice. But I won’t. Just listen to it. It’s fucking nasty. There’d better me more to come.

Blood Chalice – Demo 20168 out of 10

Track list:

  1. Desecration of the INRI
  2. The Descent
  3. Necromancy
  4. Saint Fornicator
  5. Unholy Gratification



Comments are closed.