My Glass World – Tree Shadow Piano


Having played with the likes of Paul Weller and Richard Strange, whilst also training to be a classical composer, Jamie Telford’s wonderfully chequered career also includes the genre defying My Glass World. For over a decade Jamie has been lighting up popular music, and his latest effort, Tree Shadow Piano adds more colour to an already brimming palette.

This is my second time reviewing a My Glass World album, so I wasn’t completely taken by surprise with the band’s invention, yet Tree Shadow Piano sounds completely different to their last full-length and now comes coloured with swirls of neo-psychedelia. Imagine classic Roxy Music collaborating with Low-era Bowie, and you’d have something approaching the majesty of opening shot ‘Moving To A New Town’. With spiky and angular guitars that crawl under your skin like a bad case of formication, Jamie delivers his vocals with glacial, Germanic coolness, and the whole song feels like a fragile snow globe that must be handled with care

When listening to My Glass World you should always expect the unexpected, ‘This Is Not A Love Song’ didn’t catch me totally off guard with the introduction of some sublime saxophone (courtesy of Sean Read), but that makes it no less powerful. Tree Shadow Piano is a multifaceted listen that takes on many forms, as with the song ‘Russian Doll’ it’s a riddle within an enigma that’s threaded together by its own eclecticism. Despite its constant shapeshifting, this is an album that flows exceptionally well, and its avant-garde nature means tracks such as ‘The Only Thing’ would make the perfect soundtrack to some uber cool film noir (think Rumble Fish or Alphaville).

A musical collage, ‘Amerika Is Here’ melds the robotic nature of Kraftwerk to the funky vision of Nile Rogers, which might sound like a strange combination, yet it works rather well. That Stax influence is further explored on ‘Over The Horizon’ while the following ‘Let’s Talk About Us’ has a free-form jazz vibe. It takes great skill to make such juxtapositions flow so smoothly, and Tree Shadow Piano wends its way like a luxuriant river of silk. Bringing a sense of closure is ‘A Blue Rider’, and music rarely comes this thoughtful; it simultaneously attacks the heart and head, and it is a duality that ensures this album will stay with you long after the disc (and your head) has stopped spinning.

  • Reviewed by Peter Dennis.
  • Tree Shadow Piano is released via Luxury Noise Records on 23rd September 2022 and is available here.
  • Official Website
  • Facebook

Track List:

  1. Moving To A New Town
  2. This Is Not A Love Song
  3. Russian Doll
  4. Under The Skin
  5. The Only Thing
  6. Amerika Is here
  7. Over The Horizon
  8. Let’s Talk About Us
  9. What We Call Love
  10. Take Me Back To The Start
  11. A Blue Rider