Mastodon: New video, New EP and UK Tour Dates


Cold Dark Place EP, featuring four previously unreleased tracks, coming on 22 September


New video for “Steambreather” From Emperor Of Sand out now:

Mastodon will release a new EP featuring four previously unreleased tracks via Reprise Records. Cold Dark Place will be released digitally and on CD on September 22, followed by the release of a limited-edition 10” vinyl picture disc on October 27.

Click to pre-order Cold Dark Place here

Mastodon - Cold Dark Place

Three of the tracks, “North Side Star,” “Blue Walsh,” and “Cold Dark Place,” were recorded during the sessions for Mastodon’s 2014 album Once More ‘Round The Sun and were produced by Nick Raskulinecz. A fourth track, “Toe to Toes,” was recorded during the sessions for the band’s most recent album, 2016’s Emperor of Sand, and was produced by Brendan O’Brien.  Those who pre-order Cold Dark Place will receive an instant download of the track “Toe to Toes,” on September 1.

Mastodon continues their tradition of delivering unique and compelling visual content that is as stunning as the music that inspires their creative concepts. In this case, the new video for “Steambreather”.  Here’s what might happen when the curious attend a seemingly harmless invitation to examine: “The Breath of Life – Release Your Inner Self.” “Who am I?” asks the song’s chorus. The viewer will soon find out.

The “Steambreather” video was filmed in London and directed by the husband and wife team of Essy May & Stevie Gee and produced by Hugo Donkin at Blink Art. Fans of Mastodon appreciate the fact that even their deepest, darkest subjects, no matter how personal, always manage to offer a touch of comic relief to reflect both sides of the stories they tell. “Steambreather” is the latest radio track from Emperor of Sand following “Show Yourself”.

Mastodon will spend the remainder of 2017 on the road in North America and Europe in support of Emperor of Sand.


  • 2nd Cardiff, Great Hall       
  • 4th Wolverhampton,  Civic Hall             
  • 5th Nottingham, Rock City
  • 6th Newcastle, Northumbria Uni   
  • 7th Glasgow, Barrowland
  • 9th Manchester, Manchester Academy
  • 10th London, O2 Brixton Academy

Mastodon will be joined by Red Fang and Russian Circles on the UK tour.  Tickets are available from /

For all tour dates visit

Mastodon released their latest opus, Emperor Of Sand, to mass critical acclaim in March 2017.  Over the course of Mastodon’s career, the band members have fearlessly continued to push themselves towards greater creative heights on their recorded output. Each studio album has united an ever-expanding worldwide legion of fans who have come to expect the unexpected twists and turns that have elevated Mastodon to become one of the most respected and influential creative forces in rock music.

Mastodon’s eighth studio album Emperor of Sand entered Billboard’s Top Album Sales Chart at #1, marking the band’s biggest sales debut in their history. Emperor Of Sand also gave the band the biggest international debut of their career with first week chart position highs in multiple countries, reaching the Top 10 in Canada (#2), Australia (#3), Finland (#4), Sweden (#5), Norway (#6), Ireland (#7), and New Zealand (#9).

The track-listing for Cold Dark Place is as follows:

  1. North Side Star
  2. Blue Walsh
  3. Toe to Toes
  4. Cold Dark Place

Follow Mastodon:




Twitter: @mastodonmusic

Instagram: @mastodonrocks

Mastodon Logo 2017