Iron Bonehead Productions: Cult of Fire + Fōr + Abyssous + Putrid Yell/Eaten Alive + Iron Dogs


Iron Bonehead ProductionsReviews by Jason Guest

With a few releases from Iron Bonehead Productions reviewed previously, we’ve got a few more for you. First, from Czech Republic, we have Cult of Fire’s second album, मृत्यु का तापसी अनुध्यान, (no, I can’t pronounce it either); from Sweden we have Blakaz Askǭ Hertô from the anonymous Fōr; we have some old school death metal from Germany’s Abyssous in the form of …Smouldering; from Chile, we have a 7” split between Putrid Yell and Eaten Alive gruesomely titled Vicious Manifestation of Horror and Death; ; and from Canada’s Iron Dogs comes album number two, Free and Wild. Black, death, and heavy metal, what more unearthly delights could you wish for?

If you want to find out more about Iron Bonehead Productions, you can pay a visit to their website, take a listen over at their Soundcloud page, or get up-to-date info on their Facebook page.

Cult of Fire – मृत्यु का तापसी अनुध्यान

Translating as “Ascetic Meditation of Death”, the second album from Czech Republic’s Cult of Fire is as esoteric and exotic as it is black and beautiful. Opening with mystical drones and a deep vocal dripping in eastern promise, where such intros are usually quickly consumed by wall-of-fire riffs, blast beats, and hellish vocals, here, rather than eschewing the opportunities that such sounds offer, Cult of Fire have fully embraced them. While a black metal album at heart, the album is augmented by sitars, chants, and a booming organ whose appearance is so much more than a mere gimmick.  This album has a deep flow to it, one of consistent movement and evolution, its many facets merging into one gloriously grave experience of epic grandeur and spiritual profundity.

Cult Of Fire 2013

Cult of Fire live and breathe the mysticism inherent in this incredible album and listening to it is to follow a passage through the mystical, the magical, and the menacing to some higher level of being. A journey well worth undertaking.

8.5 out of 10

Track listing:

  1. Samhara Rakta Kali
  2. On the Funeral Pyre of Existence
  3. Shava Sadhana
  4. Kali Ma
  5. When Death Is All
  6. Fierce Dance of Death
  7. Khanda Manda Yoga
  8. Burned by the Flame of Divine Love


Fōr – Blakaz Askǭ Hertô

It’s an altogether different story for Sweden’s Fōr. Blakaz Askǭ Hertô takes the sacred bindrune, Ulfhamir, as its concept in an aim to invoke the black wolf-spirit within. How? Through the ugliest, filthiest, foulest slab of stomach-churning black / death metal grimness, that’s how. But don’t expect death metal riffs and cookie monster vocals. The instruments are battered to a bloody pulp as dense, distorted chords collapse out of the guitars, malformed beats and batterings emerge from the drums, and the vocals – if they can be called such – are the grunts of some beast from the beyond reverberating somewhere in the darkness.

12Jacket_3mm_spine_all_sides.inddWhat it is about this EP that makes it so compelling is that it can’t be described, only felt. With such a monstrosity tickling at your instinctual drives, come the full moon, you’d better give fair warning to your friends and family.

8 out of 10

Track listing:

  1. Blakaz Askǭ Hertô
  2. The Ravenous Chasm
  3. Descending Obfuscated Realms
  4. Chthonian Initiation
  5. Lineage Of The Amorphous


Abyssous – …Smouldering

Almost as filthy as Fōr, Germany’s Abyssous are a bleak bunch. Old school, raw and energetic, …Smouldering brings together their 2012 demo with two new tracks. With the material from the demo leading the assault, the mysterious instrumental ‘Entering The Cave’ sets a mysterious tone that is quickly obliterated by the old school death metal that ensues. The two new tracks – ‘The Inverter’ and ‘Exanimation Rite’ – are bookended by two atmospheric instrumentals, both of which are a marked improvement on ‘Entering The Cave’, the latter, ‘Abscondence’, being an incredible piece of music. In the past year, they’ve nailed their skills at atmospherics. So too have they their song-writing skills. The two new tracks demonstrate a band that is maturing at a rapid rate. While the earlier material was good, here they sound tighter as what was intimated a year ago has been delivered. It’s just a shame that the muffled sound detracts from the full impact. Time to find a new cave methinks…

Abyssous - Smouldering6.5 out of 10

Track listing:

  1. Entering The Cave
  2. Abominations
  3. Burial Sea
  4. Invocation
  5. Black Pyramid
  6. Profaning Intrusion Of…
  7. The Inverter
  8. Exanimation Rite
  9. Abscondence


Putrid Yell/Eaten Alive – Vicious Manifestation of Horror and Death – Split 7″

Surely there is no better way to bring together two Chilean bands that share an interest in the revolting and the repulsive than a split 7”. Both tracks just over the six-minute mark, they’re both well-written and give a pretty clear insight of what both bands are capable of. Death metal must have just arrived in Chile because this sounds like the early days of that foetid genre. And just like the demos that flooded the underground in those early days, the writing’s good and the sound is shit. If you like your death old school, this is worth checking out.

GDP-17-001.pdf6 out of 10

Track listing:

  1. Wrenching Putrid Yell
  2. Mangled In The Morgue


Iron Dogs – Free And Wild

Canadian “true metal warriors” Iron Dogs second album is more of the same early-1980s metal worship bashed out on thin-sounding guitars, anaemic drums, and nasal, whiny, off-key almost-punk vocals. Like their first album, Cold Bitch, the tracks are as naff as the album cover (those poor girls weren’t paid anywhere near enough). The songs are beyond simple, the playing is shoddy, and thanks to the production, every mistake – of which there are many – is glaringly obvious. Free And Wild starts badly and goes downhill quicker than Cerberus in a tin suit on rocket-powered roller skates. While there are a few good riffs here and there as well as the odd catchy chorus and that there’s a distinct tongue-in-cheek element to the album, Iron Dogs bring us nothing new and little that wouldn’t have already been done to death during the era they so obviously revere.

Iron Dogs - Free and Wild4 out of 10

Track listing:

  1. Firebird
  2. Kingdom Of Steel
  3. Free And Wild
  4. Adversity
  5. Evil In The Keep
  6. Cannibal Death Cult
  7. Storm Warning
  8. Island Of The Dead