Heavy Water announce sophomore album “Dreams Of Yesterday” out on 29th September 2023


Heavy Water, the lockdown project created by Saxon frontman Biff Byford and son Seb Byford, will release their latest groove-saturated, riff-mighty, hip-shaking collection of timeless rock ‘n’ roll titled Dreams of Yesterday on September 29th via Silver Lining Music.

Kicking things off is the swagger and thrust of the steamy, psychedelic-tinged single and title track ‘Dreams of Yesterday’, swirling less around the North of England than a patchouli-scented Los Angelian summer’s night, a proper rock ‘n’ roll strutter.

“We went back to a time of a great musical revolution to get inspiration for this track… 1965 West Coast America, a melting pot of Music” explain Seb and Biff.

Not only does Dreams of Yesterday enjoy the tighter, sharper cohesion of being a second project, the bloodline flows freely in its creative arc, with Biff revelling in the role of collaborator with his son and Seb clearly enjoying himself. Pulling the experience, influence and craft of Biff and fusing it with some fresh twists invoking the likes of Led Zeppelin, Soundgarden, and Alice In Chains, Seb takes to both the guitar and producer’s chair with an effusive energy that crackles from every cut.
Whether it’s the bombastic, bodaciously thick melodic swamp-stomp of ‘Shadows of Life’, the spiky, punk-dipped guitar-driven ‘Another Day’, or the high-energy indie-tinged rock swirl of ‘Be My Saviour’, Dreams of Yesterday literally keeps you on your toes (air guitar in hand).

Seb Byford recorded Dreams of Yesterday at the Big Silver Barn in York, UK, with Jacky Lehmann mixing alongside Jamie Scarratt. Dreams of Yesterday is produced by Seb and Biff, with Biff taking up bass duties once more and sharing vocal duties with Seb, who throws down the big verses and plays the guitars with an effusive energy that crackles from every cut.  At the same time, Tom Witts’s assured drumming provides the perfect platform for what is, essentially, a genre-less celebration of exciting, engaging yet wholly egoless music.
So rejoice and bathe in this Heavy Water immediately because Dreams of Yesterday never sounded more alive, fresh, and present.

Dreams of Yesterday will be released on September 29th 2023, via Silver Lining Music. Available as a CD Digipak, digital formats and D2C bundles. For pre-orders, go to this location.

Dreams of Yesterday Track Listing:
1.     Dreams of Yesterday
2.     Don’t Take It for Granted
3.     How Much Can You Take
4.     Castaway
5.     Shadows of Life
6.     Never Love Again
7.     Another Day
8.     Be My Saviour
9.     Chain Reaction
10.   Life to Live

Seb Byford – Guitar and Vocals
Biff Byford – Bass and Vocals
Tom Witts – Drums 
Callum Witts – Keyboards on “Life To Live”