Grand Slam – Hit The Ground


Back in the post Thin Lizzy days, Laurence Archer wrote and performed with Phil Lynott as Grand Slam. Sadly, Grand Slam was cut short in its prime, with Phil Lynott’s untimely death leaving a hole in the fabric of rock music to this day.

Laurence went on to make his name playing with UFO but always nurtured a long-term plan to rebuild the Grand Slam machine. And here it is — primed and ready.

The debut album, “Hit The Ground”, is already receiving critical acclaim across the board – including the single “19” being playlisted on Planet Rock, UK. Today, the band also release a video for album track “Hit the Ground”

The new band (Laurence alongside Mike Dyer, Benjy Reid and Dave Boyce) honours the traditions of the band’s history whilst also looking to the future — classic tracks co-written by Lynott and Archer sit alongside a set of brand new songs that embody the same ethos of freedom, positivity and adrenalin that ran through Grand Slam in 1984.As such fans will get to hear Lynott co-writes alongside brand new material from a very special band steeped in rock history.

“Hit The Ground” album track listing is

  1. Gone Are The Days
  2. 19
  3. Hit The Ground
  4. Military Man
  5. Crazy
  6. Dedication
  7. Long Road
  8. Sisters Of Mercy
  9. Crime Rate
  10. Grand Slam

Following a critically acclaimed performance at Ramblin’Man Fair 2019, Grand Slam have announced a series of UK shows to coincide with the album release, with more to be announced.

UK Tour Dates
Fri 22nd Nov – Underworld, London
Wed 27th Nov – Robin 2, Wolverhampton 
Fri 29th Nov – Winter Storm Festival
Tue 3rd Dec – Trillians, Newcastle
Wed 4th Dec – Eleven, Stoke-on-Trent
Thu 5th Dec – Bannermans, Edinburgh

Tickets are available here –