Find Me – Wings Of Love


Review by Woody

Frontiers Records

Find Me is basically a project to showcase vocalist Robbie LaBlanc, who Frontiers Records have partnered with producer / songwriter Daniel Flores with the aim of creating a strong melodic rock album. There is also plenty of song writing contributions from the likes of Soren Kronqvist, Alessandro Del Vecchio, Erik Martensson and the most awesome Martin Brothers (VEGA).

Well, BANG! Their aim was fulfilled; pure AOR doesn’t get much better than this! Wings of Love Stays faithful to elements of traditional sounding melodic rock but mixing it up with some more modern elements to keep it fresh. It’s instantly gratifying with its pleasurable hooks, delicious keyboards, memorable melodies and contagious choruses!

I’ve always loved Robbie LaBlanc’s strong booming vocal style. I’ve always found it very stirring and inspiring. Most the songs here embrace his natural talents to their fullest, giving some songs some real grit and drive. I did notice that on some tracks that LaBlanc’s vocal is a little more reigned in, most notably on the more obvious Journey-style inspired tracks. This isn’t a bad thing and actually highlights another facet to his vocal abilities and showcases his emotive vocal in more subtle ways.

The title track ‘Wings of Love’ is a perfect AOR anthem and if it wasn’t written by the Martin Brothers I’ll eat my hat because it has their imprint all over it. I’m totally smitten with the luscious keyboards which are infectious and have me air keyboarding like a nutter. It’s a wonderfully emotionally charged track with a sweepingly splendid hands raising chorus.

Sometimes the influences are more obvious than others like on the kick-ass ‘Another World’ which screams Journey, but in the main all the songs have their own identity and fit well under the Find Me banner.  I’m actually shocked ‘Dancing With a Broken Heartbeat’ wasn’t chosen as the lead track and video, as I believe it’s a delightful AOR anthem with a strong memorable chorus which would have drawn genre fans in their droves to check the album out. Don’t get me wrong ‘Road To Nowhere’ is a great booming rocker with a tremendous energy, but I would have pushed ‘Dancing’ as the single.

It’s the rockers that drive this album and the likes of ‘Firefight’, ‘Unbreakable’, ‘Your Lips’, ‘Powerless’ and ‘One Soul’ are sure to set people’s speakers alight with repeat plays. To be honest it’s really hard to find fault with Wings Of Love and such is the strength of all the songs I’m sure everyone will have their own personal favourites.

Wings of Love is been billed and advertised as a melodic rock dream; I know most of us will see this as peacocking, but damn this album truly is a delightful melodic rock dream. Chock-full of mighty anthemic AOR I’m sure this will have most genre fans dribbling like crazy. I foresee many sore throats and tired arms once you’ve all purchased this cracking album and sampled its delights, very loudly!

Find Me - Wings of Love9 out of 10

Track Listing

  1. Road To Nowhere
  2. Another World
  3. Dancing To A Broken Heartbeat
  4. Eternally
  5. Firefight
  6. On The Outside
  7. One Soul
  8. Powerless
  9. Bottom Of My Heart
  10. Unbreakable
  11. Wings Of Love
  12. Your Lips




  1. ahhh Tosh, this is a mere snippet of my full book – Find Me & Me, flying on the Wings of Love… out at all respectable shops (Oxfam, Cancer Research and Scope)…

    My favourite chapter is ‘The Martin Brothers how freaking awesome are they!’


Comments are closed.