Enochian Theory – Life… And All It Entails


Review by Tony Gaskin

It seems a lifetime ago now that I first encountered Enochian Theory at a gig down at the now gone Old Wharf. The unassuming trio from Portsmouth proceeded to blow my mind with a mesmerizing symphony of sound the likes of which I hadn’t seen in a long time. Needless to say I purchased the album that they had self released – “Evolution: Creatio Ex Nihilio” and was lost for weeks after in the sheer depth and complexity of this outstanding album.

Fast forward to today and the band have since signed with Mascot Records and have spent the best part of two years creating that difficult follow up album. It has taken me three months to finally finish writing this review, I’ve struggled to put into words what a feel about this album and even now wonder if I’ve done it justice, but here goes!

Although they are described as a Progressive band, Enochian Theory’s music is probably more accessible to a wider audience than that tag suggests. There’s no fifteen minute epics here, or long drawn out guitar solos, instead what you get is a story that takes you on a journey. The tracks flow seamlessly together, but the album is structured and crafted so well that the changes in cadence and tempo prevent you, the passenger, from falling into a catatonic slumber, instead you are captivated by the wonders that you pass on this journey. From the euphoric highs of Distances to the dark attractions of The Motives Of The Machine, Ben Harris-Hayes’ vocals know no bounds as he weaves his glamour around us.

This is a superbly crafted opus that rises above the swell of mediocrity and these musicians hark back to an age when creating music was an art form, “Life… And All It Entails” is a stunning piece of Progressive Metal, sorry let me re-phrase that, it’s a stunning piece of music, forget the labels and genre tagging, this album is for music lovers. There remains only one question, where on earth can Enochian Theory go from here?

Rated 10 out of 10 

Track Listing

0 – Zero Is Also A Number

1 – This Aching Isolation

2 – Hz

3 – Non Sum Qualis Eram

4 – Distances

5 – Inversions

6 – Creatio Ex Nihilio

7 – In Times Of Silence

8 – For Your Glory, Great Deceiver

9 – Nisi Credideritis, Non Intelligetis

10 – The Motives Of The Machine

11 – Singularities

12 – Loves

Bonus track

13 – The Fire And The Lotus (Remastered)




Comments are closed.