Black / Death Metal Split Releases: Fiends at Feast / Tragic Death + Throne of Sacrilege / Impurium + Destruktor / Throneum


Reviews by Jason Guest

Three Black / Death Metal Split releases have found their way from the depths of the underground into the depths of MR Towers:

Yes, it’s messy in the depths, so come one, come all, and wallow in filth. Click the band names or read the lot…

Fiends at Feast / Tragic Death – Purgatory Rites

Horror Pain Gore Death Productions

Release date: 17 June 2014

The first full length from California’s Fiends At Feast, Towards the Baphomet’s Throne (reviewed here) was a malevolent and mercilessly grim piece of work, their adept musicianship and their skills as architects of cutting black metal on display throughout. Two years later, the four tracks on this split provides the first insight into what the band has been up to in the interim.

Utterly devoid of light, the first two tracks both embody the brutality of death metal in their unremitting ice cold assault and affirm the band’s own identity. While the two-minute instrumental ‘Spectral Passageway’ – an atmospheric guitar line brandished against a backcloth of arctic waves – brings an unexpected shade to the release, it’s with ‘Into The Darkness’ that Fiends of Feast’s development comes to the fore.

Brutal, sadistic, and bleak, with its atmospheric passages, ever-darkening melodies, and outstanding lead and bass work, the band’s next release, whether an EP or a full length, will be something worth waiting for. In the meantime, this may be more of the same but it’s still damned good.7 out of 10

Active since 2009 and with a demo and an album to their name already, Wisconsin trio Tragic Death are as relentlessly brutal as they are atmospheric. Delivering their pummelling and jarring riffs with a deep-freeze guitar tone, the band’s sound is cold, callous, and collected.

Galloping from the gates, the band surge forward with all the fervour and power of an army on a dawn raid adding atmospheric passages and a symphonic element to the mix to give an insight into the band’s musical abilities and the opportunity to demonstrate what they can do to expand their sound beyond the tried and tested. A trait that continues into the impressive closing track, ‘The Dissolution Of The Clay Children’ is dark, bleak and bears a distinct quality that marks the band out as both ambitious and innovative, that they can hypnotise as heavily as they can destroy means that Tragic Death are a band to keep a keen eye on. 7 out of 10

Fiends at Feast & Tragic Death – Purgatory Rites7 out of 10

Fiends At Feast:

  1. Four Winds Of Destruction
  2. Through Immortal Gates
  3. Spectral Passageway
  4. Into The Darkness

Tragic Death:

  1. Suffer The Salvation
  2. Withering Youth
  3. The Dissolution Of The Clay Children


Throne of Sacrilege / Impurium – Unleashing a Cacophony of Destruction

Orchestrated Misery Recordings

Release date: 1 August 2014

Formed in 2012, Throne of Sacrilege’s chaotic black metal is a coldblooded combination of brutal riffs hammered home by ruthless drumming and cemented by a guttural and gruesome vocal that, when at its zenith, is something extraordinary. Bringing brutality at a ridiculous pace, the band machine gun their way through every chunk of ammunition they have for three tracks of all-out war. Heavy, fast, and with a belligerent melody brought to the atmospherics, Throne of Sacrilege balance the cacophonic with the ruthless in a cold, bleak and violently unforgiving storm. Recommended. 7.5 out of 10

Formed in 2008, Impurium’s sound is firmly rooted in the mid-80s to early-90s. Fast, raw, chaotic, and delivered with all the subtlety of a Bosch triptych, the three tracks from this three-pieceblack metal outfit, despite their more modern production, are loaded with the influence and the force of those from that abominable era. An inexorable assault of furious riffs, blasting drums, and harsh vocals that cut through the blackness like razor wire ripped through the palm. Though they may be scoring low on the originality scale, the brutal and the bleak scales are overflowing. 7 out of 10

Throne of Sacrilege & Impurium – Unleashing a Cacophony of Destruction

7 out of 10

Throne of Sacrilege:

  1. Sacrilegious Impalement
  2. Upon Cloven Hooves
  3. As the Black Wind Howls


  1. Again We Freeze
  2. ’til Midgard
  3. Ad Secular Impurium


Destruktor / Throneum – A Prophecy Of Nihilism (Split 7″)

Hells Headbangers

Release date: 8 August 2014

Definitely the better half of this split 7”, Australian trio Destruktor’s ‘Beseiged’ is like being kicked in the face with a boot made of nails, concrete, and nails made of concrete. If this is what we are to expect of the forthcoming Opprobrium, it will be exceptional. 8 out of 10

Shrouded in lo-fi murk, Polish duo Throneum’s ‘Chtonian Lust’ pales in comparison and lets this spit down considerably. The riffs are okay, some are good, the drumming’s a consistent but monochrome battery, and the vocal is monstrous, but the whole thing sounds flat and lifeless. 4 out of 10

Destruktor & Throneum – A Prophecy Of Nihilism6 out of 10

Track Listing:

  1. Destruktor – Beseiged
  2. Throneum – Chtonian Lust