Atavismo – Desintegración (Vinyl re-issue)


Set the controls. We’re off!

Review by Jason Guest

Temple of Torturous

Release date: 16 June 2015

Desintegración makes a very good first impression. The subtle swirls of the synth followed by a Meddle-era Pink Floyd ride cymbal, a Waters-esque hypnotic bass line, and pure Gilmour glissando guitar that open the album are enthralling. The psychedelic atmospherics slowly unfurling in a wave of well-versed improvisation, ‘Blazava’ breathes a life all of its own and continues to move towards the peak that appears in its last minute. With such a cool and compelling track to open the album, Atavismo have set the bar high.

‘Kraken’ introduces vocals into the album’s painterly textures and washes us away on delightful and dream-like wave after wave of mellow melodies and fuzz-guitar lead work. The subtle rise and fall of the aptly-titled ‘Oceánica’ takes us further away into and beyond the horizon into the ether, breaking on through to the other side with doom-heavy chords and Ufomamut-esque spacey psychedelics. And with its Middle-Eastern ambiance, ‘Meeh’ closes this album’s journey through the inner, the outer and many other worlds and we are left somehow rich, somewhat serene, and curious how four tracks in forty minutes can have such an effect. An album to spend time with. A lot of it. Bliss. Set the controls. We’re off!

Initially released on CD last year on Not On Label Records, Atavismo’s Desintegración will be given the vinyl treatment via Temple Of Torturous on 16 June 2015 and come in a gatefold packaging limited to 300 copies.

Atavismo – Desintegración20158 out of 10

Track Listing:

  1. Blazava
  2. Kraken
  3. Oceánica
  4. Meeh



Comments are closed.