Arch Enemy – Handshake With Hell


ARCH ENEMY will release their 11th studio album, Deceivers, via Century Media Records on July 29. For a preview of the record, the video for new single ‘Handshake With Hell’, directed by Patric Ullaeus, can be enjoyed here.

Arch Enemy’s Michael Amott (huitars) comments: “Our new single/video ‘Handshake with Hell’ started off with some riffs and melodies that I thought might be suitable for each other, and when I showed the parts I had to Daniel (Erlandsson, drums), he also felt it had potential. We worked on a demo of it, developing it much further together, and once we had reached a point where we felt it was ready, we sent the instrumental version to Alissa over in Canada.

“She came back with this really cool approach to the vocals and lyrics that elevated the song even further. To me, it’s a stand-out track on the new Deceivers album, really showcasing what we are capable of as songwriters and performers in 2022 – it’s definitely one of the new songs I’m dying to play live on tour!”

Alissa White-Gluz adds: “When Michael and Daniel showed me the instrumental they had cooked up, I got a ton of vocal ideas to complete the song. ‘Handshake with Hell’ has a classic heavy metal feel, and it felt like the right time to unleash some classic heavy metal vocals to match. I think the result is really interesting and catchy!”

Fans can pre-order Deceivers here – where the album is available in the following formats:- Digital Album
– Ltd. Deluxe 2LP+CD Artbook
hand-numbered limited edition with noble hot foil stamping
– LP1: multi-colored vinyl (each design is unique)
– LP2: picture vinyl with two bonus tracks & zoetrope effect
– CD: album + two bonus tracks
– 12” Artbook with 36-pages booklet incl. liner-notes and art print
– Ltd. Deluxe CD Box Set
– DVD-sized clamshell box with noble hot foil stamping CD in eco-friendly packaging with two bonus tracks 32-page DIN A5 booklet incl. liner-notes
– Tote Bag Metal Pin
– Ltd. Black & colored 180g LP incl. 8-page booklet + Obi-Strip
– Special Edition CD w/eco-friendly packaging incl. 16-page booklet

A collection of 11 tracks that are ruthlessly catchy and mercilessly violent, Deceivers stands toe-to-toe with the highlights of the band’s storied catalogue. Roaring to life with ‘Handshake With Hell’, Arch Enemy make it clear they are out for blood, and every track is a hit, from the moody ‘Poisoned Arrow’ to the titanically anthemic ‘One Last Time’. Sounding more energised than ever, the quintet is operating at the highest level, delivering a maelstrom of diamond-hard riffing wrapped around cinematic melodies, thunderous drumming and towering vocals. Arch Enemy has proved, yet again, that they are unstoppable.

This spring, Arch Enemy and Behemoth will return to the States to co-headline “The North American Siege 2022” tour with Napalm Death and Unto Others as special guests, before Arch Enemy appear at select summer festivals; the rescheduled “European Siege 2022” tour (with/Behemoth, Carcass, Unto Others) will kick off in the fall.

“Despite the obvious uncertainties everyone is currently facing in the world, we have got quite a few concerts booked for this year!” says Amott. “We’re delighted to be returning to the live stage in North America this spring and hitting select European festivals in the summer, as well as a huge European tour at the end of 2022. It’s time, let’s do this!”
See below for all dates – tickets can be purchased here.

The European Siege 2022 (UK and Ireland dates)
w/ Arch Enemy & Behemoth+ special guests Carcass, Unto Others

Sept. 27, 2022 – Dublin, IE @ Olympia Theatre
Sept. 29, 2022 – Glasgow, UK @ O2 Academy 
Sept. 30, 2022 – Manchester, UK @ O2 Apollo
Oct. 1, 2022 – Birmingham, UK @ O2 Academy 
Oct. 2, 2022 – London, UK @ O2 Academy Brixton