Whiskey Myers release new single ‘The Wolf’


Riding high from the news last week that four of their songs have earned new RIAA Gold and Platinum certifications, genre-bending band Whiskey Myers continue to share new music with the release of ‘The Wolf’ off their forthcoming album Tornillo, set for release July 29th via the band’s own Wiggy Thump Records with distribution by Thirty Tigers. Pre-order / pre-save the album HERE.

The song is the latest in a string of recent releases previewing the album, including lead single ‘John Wayne’, which is emblematic of the sound Esquire celebrates as “straight-up, booze-swilling, highway-driving, heart-on-your-sleeve, blood-on-your-knuckles country music.” Written solo by lead singer Cody Cannon, the lyrics are a battle cry from the independent band achieving massive mainstream success:

I’ve done rattled through a tempest, I’ve done rocked through the storm
These scars that I bear are hard earned and battle worn
They’re from crawling and scratching the whole damn way
Everything that you see is uncut and self-made

So who in the hell you think you’re playing with now?
You done fucked around and let the wolf out
And I’ll be prowling while you sleep
You’re playing for fun, I’m playing to eat

The five-and-a-half-minute rocker is driven by Tornillo’s signature horns section and a blazing guitar riff, with American Songwriter recently proclaiming, “Whiskey Myers [is] in a league of their own with their signature hard-rocking sound on full display… Saddle up and settle in because Whiskey Myers is ready to take listeners on a country, rock, and blues-infused wild ride.” Uncut Magazine have also championed the album as, “a rousing set of snarling, swampy boogie channelling Charlie Daniels and ZZ Top, lashed with Muscle Shoals-style soul, soused with swaggering brass and embellished by the backing vocals of gospel quartet The McCrary Sisters.”

Fans also got a sneak peek at the new song during the band’s sold-out Red Rocks debut earlier this week, where the six-piece thrilled the nearly 10,000 fans in attendance with two-plus hours of nonstop music and proved what Classic Rock Magazine declares of Whiskey Myers: “Authenticity: you can’t buy it, you can’t bluff it. And you can’t beat it when it comes to delivering dirty, down-home, electric guitar music from the American south.”

For the most up-to-date information on the forthcoming album and all tour dates, visit WhiskeyMyers.com and follow on social media @WhiskeyMyers.

Tornillo Track Listing

John Wayne (Cody Cannon, Jamey Gleaves, Tony Kent)
Antioch (Cody Cannon)
Feet’s (Cody Cannon)
Whole World Gone Crazy (John Jeffers)
For The Kids (Cody Cannon)
The Wolf (Cody Cannon)
Mission To Mars (Cody Cannon, Aaron Raitiere)
Bad Medicine (Cody Cannon)
Heavy On Me (John Jeffers)
Other Side (Cody Cannon)
Heart Of Stone (Cody Cannon)