UFO @ Leamington Spa Assembly – Wednesday 19th March 2014


Review and photos by Rich Ward

Slotting in a handful of dates around their headline appearance at the Hard Rock Hell AOR Festival UFO made a welcome return to Leamington Spa Assembly. Having witnessed the debacle of Graham Bonnet two nights earlier it was a delight to not only be spoilt with an excellent sound mix, but also the world class vocals of Phil Mogg who can still belt out a full set with ease.


They open with a bonafide classic in ‘Lights Out’ which serves as a great start before brining us right up to date with ‘Fight Night’ from their latest Seven Deadly album. The band, like many classic rock bands, are often criticised for playing the same songs. It’s always going to be a challenge; they will rightly want to promote their new album with a few tracks from that and then there will be the older ones that everyone will want and expect to hear. This then doesn’t leave much room for surprises unless they play for over two hours. However, those surprises do come, and at the expense of the likes of ‘Mother Mary’ and ‘I’m A Loser’ we get treated to a Chapman era ‘Making Moves’, Walk On Water’s ‘Pushed To The Limit’ and after a few years absence, a nice return to the set of ‘Baby Blue’.

‘Burn Your House Down’ is outstanding, a highlight of Seven Deadly and a highlight tonight. This is followed by ‘Cherry’ which is alluded to be at the audience’s request. I guess it’s more likely a case of good timing. Paul Raymond flits between keyboards and rhythm guitar throughout and cuts a fine figure in his fabulous leopard print jacket. Along with Rob De Luca, his intro to ‘Love To Love’ is as exquisite as ever. Vinnie Moore has now been in the band for over a decade so it also seems fitting to revisit ‘When Daylight Comes To Town’.


Mogg’s witty banter is engaging and as entertaining as always, taking in, amongst other things, the art of twerking while cooking and a surfeit of Withnail & I quotes. As the set reaches the end, the closers are inevitable, but no less enjoyable. ‘Rock Bottom’ finishes the main set with Vinnie Moore stamping his own mark on the lengthy workout. By the time of the two song encore of ‘Doctor Doctor’ and ‘Shoot Shoot’, UFO have ticked all the boxes, made their mark and sent the Leamington crowd home happy.

1. Lights Out
2. Fight Night
3. Wonderland
4. Let It Roll
5. When Daylight Goes To Town
6. Baby Blue
7. Pushed To The Limit
8. Makin’ Moves
9. Ain’t No Baby
10. Burn Your House Down
11. Cherry
12. Only You Can Rock Me
13. Too Hot To Handle
14. Love To Love
15. Rock Bottom

16. Doctor Doctor
17. Shoot Shoot

See more of Rich’s photos here