Tony Kaye launches End of Innocence out 10th September

Keyboard legend Tony Kaye releases his debut solo album End of Innocence on 10th September. Kaye who retired from music in 1996, felt so moved by the events of 9/11 that he felt compelled to write music again.

End Of Innocence is a requiem for those who lost their lives and all those touched by the horrific events of 9/11. Primarily orchestral, End Of Innocence is a powerful and emotional suite that is both beautiful and sinister, reflecting the dark forces at work that day. It guides the listener through the day and touches on the response, to reach a hope that peace and calm may prevail. 

As did many millions, Kaye watched the horrors of 9/11 unfold on his TV screen. “The next day I unpacked my keyboards for the first time in a long time,” Kaye recalls. “I didn’t know what I was going to do. It was one of those things that happened, inspiration on a musical level. 

The suite begins the night before 9/11 but, as Kaye’s wife Dani Torchia sings an innocent lullaby, menacing storms are gathering. The beautiful 9/11 Overture was the first piece Kaye composed, the following day. “I had no recording equipment, just an 8-track cassette recorder and some of those recordings became what you hear now. 

Kaye continues to create vivid images of New York City life and a vibrancy around The World Trade Centre (285 Fulton Street) before the terror begins and captures the fears of those on the planes, Flight 11 depicting the conversations stewardesses had with the tower. The track includes a powerful drum solo by Kaye’s friend Jay Schellen (CIRCA, YES) reflecting the struggles onboard. 

Following the collapse of the towers, Dani Torchia sings her lament Sweetest Dreams and the album looks at the Aftermath and the Heroes before focusing on the response. “I wanted it, musically, to be about that day,” Kaye says, “but I felt compelled to extend it to deal with the repercussions of what happened. Musically, it was quite challenging to do the battle scene and then the Hope And Triumph, a patriotic anthem and the consequences of war. Ground Zero is the hope for the future, the rebuilding.” 

The artwork for the album has been created by Roger Dean, known for his work with YES and ASIA, powerful imagery reflecting the journey the music takes. 

End Of Innocence Track Listing: 

  1. TwinkleTwinkleLittle Star/Twilight Time 
  2. 911 Overture
  3. NYC Blues
  4. Battle Cry
  5. 285 Fulton Street
  6. Let’s Roll
  7. Tug of War
  8. Flight 11
  9. Towers Fall
  10. Sweetest Dreams
  11. Aftermath
  12. Heroes
  13. The Battle
  14. Hope and Triumph
  15. Homecoming
  16. Ground Zero

Produced by Tony Kaye 

All tracks composed by Tony Kaye except Sweetest Dreams by Dani Torchia. 

Tony Kaye, Spirit of Unicorn Music and Cherry Red Records are donating 10% of all profits from End of Innocence to  The charity supports veterans, defenders and first responders in times of hardship. 

You can pre-order the album here: