The Raven Age release new single & announce headline tour


The Raven Age have released their brand new single ‘Serpents Tongue’, the latest song to be taken from the forthcoming album Blood Omen out July 7th via Music For Nations/Sony Music. The album is available to pre-order now here.

Heavy and raging, ‘Serpents Tongue’ is a fiery melodic metal anthem. The epic, self-produced video finds the band performing the song in a ghoulish manor house to soundtrack a demonic dinner party hosted by the Raven King.

“‘Serpents Tongue’ from the off felt like a very special track for us,” says singer Matt James. “It’s that perfect balance between melodic and heaviness. There are so many different styles going on, but they all work and complement each other as a whole.”

Guitarist George Harris continues, “‘Serpents Tongue’ is one of our favourites from the album and we knew it’d be a single straight away. Conceptually, the song is about deceit and lies, how you can only truly trust yourself and the loneliness that comes with that.

“The music video was shot at Revesby Abbey in Lincolnshire, which is an old derelict manor house that was also used to house American fighter pilots during the war. The concept is a play on the title ‘Serpents Tongue’ and is based around the character Medusa. We wanted to create a B-movie horror theme, in a haunted house/Addams Family style and have some fun with it. So that’s where the idea of having other creepy characters like the mummy, werewolf and three eyed man came from. They’re all invited along to a dinner party for the weird and wonderful, Medusa is taking orders from the Raven King and turns the guests to stone.”

‘Serpents Tongue’ follows the highly-praised release of ‘Parasite’, the gargantuan lead single from Blood Omen. And the band’s forthcoming third album pushes everything further than ever before. The choruses are made for arenas, the riffs are taut, direct, and go straight for the jugular. It all makes for a grand musical stage on which the record’s concept plays out.

Following the theme of its two predecessors, 2019’s Conspiracy and the band’s debut Darkness Will Rise in 2017, the raven motif looms large, this time centring on the overthrowing of old masters in Blood Omen, with the band’s Raven King character coming to prominence.

To capture all this on record, the band enlisted the help of long-term producer Matt Hyde (Slipknot, Machine Head, Bullet For My Valentine) to lay down the album’s framework, before setting to recording the rest of the album themselves. The final mastering was put into the treasured hands of Mika Jussila at Finnvox (Nightwish, Children of Bodom, HIM).


  1. Changing Of The Guard
  2. Parasite
  3. Serpents Tongue
  4. Essence Of Time
  5. Nostradamus
  6. Forgive & Forget
  7. The Journey
  8. War In Heaven
  9. Tears Of Stone