The Graveltones – Don’t Wait Down


Review by Kat Ball

It sometimes feels like the world is missing the idea of rock’n’roll, with albums and even a band’s whole sound often being overproduced, so Don’t Wait Down by The Graveltones provides a refreshing change. The band, made up of UK-based Australians Jimmy O on vocals and guitar and Mikey on drums, inject a needed return to garage rock’n’roll that feels like it’s been away for too long. Their debut album is raw, without too much unnecessary flair, and catchy as hell.

Opening track ‘Bang Bang’ is a solid song that sets the tone for the album, with a sound reminiscent of the more upbeat side of The White Stripes. Throughout, they maintain their refined yet not over polished sound, a happy mix of rock, pop and indie, with gravely vocals and guitars sounding like they’ve been dragged through a grater. And it works. ‘Catch me on the Fly’ is one hell of a song. With an almost rockabilly feel at times, it’s not going to leave your head any time soon. The catchiest of riffs, a chorus that just screams to be sung along to at full belt in big venues, these guys will do very well indeed.

The Graveltones – Don’t Wait Down7 out of 10

Track Listing:

  1. Bang Bang
  2. Forget About The Trouble
  3. Dying On Your Feet
  4. St. Lucia
  5. Money
  6. Crime To Be Talkin’
  7. Lightning Bolt
  8. I Am A Liar
  9. You’re No Good
  10. Catch Me On The Fly
  11. Never Going Back
  12. Six Billion