The Defiled – Daggers


Review by Jack Arkell

Nuclear Blast

Funded by Pledgemusic, Daggers is the second album released by British industrial metal band The Defiled. Two years of extensive touring have followed since their debut Grave Times, and it is evident very early on that the Londoners have progressed their sound notably during that time on the road.

‘Sleeper’ opens the collection with a sound bordering on the demonic. After a horror movie style intro, Stitch D’s all consuming vocals and Needles’ impressive drum work ensure that the album as a whole is given a promisingly robust start. ‘Unspoken’ sounds like unused material from Korn’s sessions with Skrillex at first, before a more traditional metal sound comes into play for the remainder of the track. Acknowledged as the first song written for this sophomore album, ‘As I Drown’ has been doing the live rounds for a while. It also happens to be one of the most immediate tracks included, even more so than the excellent ‘Saints and Sinners’.

‘Porcelain’ begins with a Marilyn Manson-esque intro before developing into a track far more explosive than anything the ‘God of Fuck’ has written in years. It is also a prime example of The Defiled’s success in blending electronic elements into their heavy, metallic sound. This is a formula that countless bands have spent hours in a darkened studio trying to perfect, and the results can sometimes be embarrassing. Thus, it is a credit to the band that they have managed to get the balance right. Still, heavier tracks such as ‘Fragments of Hope’ boast riffs that will make you yearn for a more consistent metal sound. Maybe the electronic elements are more a current trend than a fresh innovation, but this shouldn’t put you off too much. Besides, you’ve surely wondered what Fear Factory would sound like if they were launched into another dimension, right? Later tracks ‘The Mourning After’ and ‘Five Minutes’ struggle to maintain the same kind of quality as in the first half of the album, but the latter at least sees The Defiled in a stripped back mode that too many bands lack.

Daggers is the sound of an exciting young band beginning to release their potential and producing a very listenable, if not entirely satisfying record. Fans of Asking Alexandria and Motionless in White could do far worse than to give The Defiled a listen, though their live shows will be the key as to whether their appeal will stretch further than this particular scene.

The Defiled - Daggers7 out of 10

Track Listing:

  1. Sleeper
  2. Unspoken
  3. Saints and Sinners
  4. As I Drown
  5. Porcelain
  6. New Approach
  7. Fragments of Hope
  8. Infected
  9. The Mourning After
  10. Five Minutes
  11. No Place Like Home