The Dead Daisies – Face I Love EP


With its array of gastronomic delights, this EP doesn’t fuck about!

Review by Peter Keevil

Spitfire Music/PIAS

Release date: 8 September 2014

With what I presume is the aperitif to a forthcoming main course of a second album, The Dead Daisies release a 4-track EP to keep those living off the scraps of their now 18 month old debut suitably nourished. And, just like their self-titled album, this EP doesn’t fuck about and delivers a further array of gastronomic delights. However your palette must be strong as these terminal bellis perennis bring three hardy sub-four minute ‘repeat chorus to fade’ perennials to their rock n roll garden.

There’s a great honky-tonk feel to these songs, with Dizzy Reed’s keyboards getting greater prominence but the three original songs here could have easily sat on the debut release. That’s not a criticism, just an indication that these guys have found their sound early and are looking to party on, rather than ‘develop’ and evolve.

The only downside to this tasty little meal is the rather lame inclusion of the McCartney penned, ‘Helter Skelter’. Not that this is a poor execution just that it’s a bit obvious. Singer Jon Stevens does rip into it and I can see it as a set closer on the live dates but following the quality of the preceding three succulent choices it would have been nice to finish with a decent sweet when what we get is a rather limp-looking cheese board on a pub menu.

The Dead Daisies – Face I Love EP7.5 out of 10

(9 out of 10 for the first 75%; 6 out of 10 for the final ‘ride’)

Track Listing:

  1. Face I Love
  2. Angel In Your Eyes
  3. Your Karma
  4. Helter Skelter

The Dead Daisies were formed by singer-songwriter Jon Stevens and guitarist David Lowy in 2012. The 2014 lineup includes Jon Stevens (Noiseworks/INXS) on vocals, David Lowy (Mink/Red Phoenix) on guitar, Richard Fortus (Guns N’ Roses/Psychedelic Furs) on lead guitar, Marco Mendoza (Thin Lizzy/Whitesnake) on bass, Dizzy Reed (Guns N’ Roses/Hookers & Blow) on keys and the new addition of Brian Tichy (Ozzy Osbourne/Billy Idol) on drums.