The Damned Announce UK Record Store Q&As + Signings


To celebrate the release of their up-coming album DarkadelicThe Damned will visit record stores in LondonBirmingham and Bristol for fan Q&A sessions and signings.

On Tuesday 2 May, ​​David Vanian, Captain Sensible, Monty Oxymoron and Will Glanville-Taylor will stop by Rough Trade East in London to meet fans and answer questions. The following day, on Wednesday 3 May, Vanian, Sensible and Oxymoron will head to Birmingham HMV Vault, with Paul Gray also joining them in Bristol’s Rough Trade on Thursday 4 May.

Across the dates The Damned will be interviewed by MOJO Contributing Editor Phil Alexander, music journalist John Aizlewood, and DJ, presenter, podcaster and writer Matt Stocks.

Fans can pre-order / sign up to attend – see UK record store signings/Q&A info below:

Tue 2 May – London – Rough Trade East – 7pm

Interviewed by Phil Alexander (Contributing Editor of MOJO)

Pre-order/sign up to attend:

Wed 3 May – Birmingham – HMV Vault – 5pm

Interviewed by John Aizlewood (Music Journalist)

Pre-order/sign up to attend:

Thurs 4 May – Bristol – Rough Trade – 6:30pm

Interviewed by Matt Stocks (DJ, Presenter, Podcaster & Writer)

Pre-order/sign up to attend:

This week the band head out on tour across the UK in support of their brand-new, Darkadelic, out 28 April. Opening their tour in Cardiff on 31 March and closing with two shows at Alexandra Palace Theatre in London on 20 & 21 April, they’ll also perform in Southend, Oxford, Nottingham, Liverpool, Newcastle, Glasgow, Leeds, Manchester, Birmingham, Bristol, Norwich, Brighton and Southampton. Tickets on sale now here.

After the success of 2022’s Original Line-up tour and also the release of the film/album A Night Of A Thousand Vampires, which reached #1 on the UK Official Music Video Chart, The Damned current line-up have released two singles from their new album. The first insight to the new record is The Invisible Man – a gloriously delirious video that swirls Captain Sensible’s trippy guitar swaths into David Vanian’s tale of mystery and madness. It is one step beyond into a new and Darkadelic universe…

Also the recent single Beware Of The Clown’, written by founding member Captain Sensible to deride what he calls the “conveyor belt of bozos” who lead us. Produced by Tom ‘Mitch’ Mitchener, the track musically evokes two magical Damned albums, 1982’s Strawberries and 1985’s Phantasmagoria.

Darkadelic catches the band once again evolving and expanding upon their unique universe and features some of The Damned’s sharpest song-writing and genre-bending performances. Alongside Dave Vanian, Captain Sensible, Paul Gray and Monty Oxymoron, William Granville-Taylor joins the band on drums.

See all UK tour dates and venues below:


Fri 31 March – Cardiff – Great Hall

Sat 01 April – Southend – Cliffs Pavilion

Sun 02 April – Oxford – O2 Academy

Tue 04 April – Nottingham – Rock City

Wed 05 April – Liverpool – O2 Academy

Fri 07 April – Newcastle – NX

Sat 08 April – Glasgow – O2 Academy

Mon 10 April – Leeds – O2 Academy

Tue 11 April – Manchester – Albert Hall

Thu 13 April – Birmingham – Town Hall

Fri 14 April – Bristol – O2 Academy

Sat 15 April – Norwich – The Nick Rayns

Mon 17 April – Brighton – Dome

Tue 18 April – Southampton – O2 Guildhall

Thu 20 April – London – Alexandra Palace Theatre

Fri 21 April – London – Alexandra Palace Theatre


Following their formation in 1976, The Damned became the first UK punk band to officially release a single, ‘New Rose’, and an album Damned Damned Damned. With 11 studio albums and several UK chart singles, the band are pioneers who emerged from the London punk scene, earning an ever-expanding fan base fuelled by legendary live shows. Their dark lyrics and Dave Vanian’s rich baritone vocals also catapulted The Damned to the forefront of the Goth-Rock Genre. The Damned of today defy any categorisation and the ease of which songs from all phases of their career fit together in this ground-breaking spectacle is absolute proof.

THE DAMNED line-up are:

Dave Vanian – Vocals

Captain Sensible – Guitar

Monty Oxymoron – Keyboards

Paul Gray – Bass

Will Glanville-Taylor – Drums