The Catharsis – Romance


Review by Greg Cadman

Enjoyment Records

UK hardcore is in pretty good shape right now, but there hasn’t really been a big contender on the scene to emerge from the Midlands so far, most of them tend to come from down south, but never fear, The Catharsis may be the band to represent Birmingham in the UKHC circuit.

Romance is the debut from these youngsters and it’s an impressive showcase of hardcore punk that bites, stabs and slashes with reckless abandon and will have a lot of the band’s contemporaries looking to up their game. Lately there’ve been an awful lot of New York-style hardcore bands in the UK, so it’s a breath of fresh air to hear a local band who are a little more akin to the likes of Cancer Bats or Every Time I Die.

There’s plenty of memorable numbers with shout-able sections, particularly the final minute of one of the album’s highlights, Leave Me Here. This is an album with more hooks and riffs than you can shake a stick at, and that’s quite a feat for a band on their first album.

Let’s be honest, this isn’t exactly something you’ve never heard before, and The Catharsis probably won’t set the world on fire like Gallows did back in 2007, but it’s a mighty fine introduction to some great homegrown talent who we’ll hopefully be seeing much more of in the future.

The Catharsis - Romance8 out of 10

Track listing:

  1. Funeral
  2. Dead Man Talking
  3. Stray Dogs
  4. Heart Burner
  5. Spirit Lifter
  6. Styx
  7. Amour
  8. Leave Me Here
  9. O’Recluse
  10. Romance