The Brew – Control


Review by Tosh Davies

The Brew, ever heard of them? Probably not, however all that is about to change in 2014 as this Lincolnshire three-piece are about to crash onto every item of music playing equipment in the country. Control is their 5th studio album since their inception in 2005 and what a statement of intent it makes. Produced by the multi-talented Toby Jepson (Little Angels, Fastway, Dio Disciples), he’s captured the raw energy of the band perfectly.  Fronted by vocalist/guitarist Jason Barwick with the Farther & Son rhythm section of Tim and Kurtis Smith, The Brew are a whole lot more than another mediocre blues/rock band from England.

First track ‘Repeat’ is a blast of three-minute rock fury, driving music, made for carefree reckless abandon with a hint of the guitar heroics about to grace our ears. ‘Mute’ is a relative slow burner until the guitar solo kicks in with the sound of a thousand screaming eagles which rapidly increases the song’s pace. ‘Pause’ has a Zeppelin trippy feel to it, a solid bass-line lays the foundations with the guitars meandering in the background until exploding in a flurry of multi-coloured soundscapes. An album for varying moods from the 60s influenced feel of early The Who to an acoustic interlude so raw you could swear it’s being played live right in front of you.

Sometimes blues soaked and slightly raunchy, Control is an album of discovery, melodies full of character and passion played by three very talented musicians. Having played on the prestigious Rockpalast festival in Germany and televised throughout the country, it escapes me how this band have gone unrecognized under the British radar for so long. If you thought Joe Bonamassa had all the riffs and licks, think again. The raw intensity oozing from Barwick’s fingertips electrify the air.

Begging to be played live in its entirety, this is an impressive album by an impressive British band produced by an impressive British producer. And like everyone says, you can’t beat homegrown!

The Brew – Control9 out of 10

Track Listing:

  1. Repeat
  2. Eject
  3. Mute
  4. Pause
  5. Shuffle
  6. Fast Forward
  7. Skip
  8. Stop
  9. Play
  10. Rewind