Rich Robinson – The Ceaseless Sight


Review by Paul Davis

The End Records

Release date: 3 June 2014

With The Black Crowes now on another hiatus with no plans to reconvene any time soon, Rich Robinson went back to Woodstock and Applehead studios to record his third solo album. Rich’s Through A Crooked Sun was recorded at the same location in 2011 but this time he didn’t have an album ready to be recorded, just a couple of complete songs and a bunch of ideas to work on. Joining him were Joe Magistro on drums and keyboardist Marco Benevento.

Through A Crooked Sun was inspired by Robinson’s move back to Atlanta to help take care of his father who has recently passed away. This time, The Ceaseless Sight has been partly inspired by another move with his family to California.

Ten years into his solo career, Rich Robinson’s third album is his best to date. Opener ‘I Know You’ sets the gold standard immediately with a Rolling Stones groove and Rich singing of ‘leaving on a midnight train (I watch you getting smaller)’. On this song, as with much of the album, the piano of Benevento brings as much to the table as the guitar and voice of Robinson.

While in the Crowes, Rich wrote songs with his brother’s vocal style in mind but now he’s writing songs of an equally high standard for his own voice. ‘One Road Hill’ is a love song, a feel good song and will be a live favourite with its irresistible chorus of ‘Feelin’ good, not feeling down, watch me run I never touch the ground’.

‘The Giving Key’ is perfect laid back, late night listening with added vocals from Amy Helm, daughter of The Band’s Levon Helm. ‘In You’, much like ‘I Don’t Hear The Sound Of You’ from the last album has a little of The Jayhawks about it while ‘Trial And Faith’ features perhaps Robinson’s finest five minutes of guitar on the album, a pleasure to hear from start to finish.

The Ceaseless Sight is an excellent addition to the Rich Robinson solo catalogue, a superb blend of styles bringing together rock, blues, country and a little bit of soul. As much as some fans might expect to see the Robinson brothers back together sooner rather than later, others may be intrigued to see how Rich’s solo career develops from here.

Rich Robinson – The Ceaseless Sight8 out of 10

Track Listing:

  1. I Know You
  2. Down The Road
  3. One Road Hill
  4. The Giving Key
  5. This Unfortunate Show
  6. In Comes The Night
  7. Inside
  8. I Have A Feeling
  9. I Remember
  10. In You
  11. Trial And Faith
  12. Obscure The Day