Reece – Compromise



Review by Woody

AOR Heaven

David Reece returns with a second solo album under the Reece moniker and he’s joined by a whole host of musical mates who guest on Compromise. He’s joined by Jack Frost, Tommy Denander, Andy Susemihl (Bangalore Choir) and Kelly Peterson on guitars and even a guest appearance by the UK’s own Martin Brothers (Vega). Reece’s long time collaborator Martin Kronlund produces the album and as we have become accustomed to from Kronlund, he does a sterling job on the production.

Compromise is raw, edgy rock n’ roll which showcases Reece’s gritty and raw vocal style perfectly. It’s a decent album, but I think it’s one for Reece diehards only. The album opens extremely impressively with ‘Disaster’, ‘End Of It All’, a cover of Credence Clearwater Revival’s ‘Fortunate Son’, and the outstanding ballad ‘Someone Beautiful’, a Martin brothers co-write. After this though there is a mid-album slump and the rest of the album doesn’t quite have the same impact on you as the opening salvo.

There are plenty of guest musicians on Compromise and they all bring their own flavours and styles to proceedings but they never make the album feel disjointed. There is of course the obvious classic rock vibe to ‘Fortunate Son’, Denander adds a little touch of west coast on ‘Where My Heart Belongs’ and there is even some more metallic moments and biker rock inspired tunes. For me the outstanding track though is ‘Someone Beautiful’ which features James Martin (Vega) on keyboards and he writes and performs a stunning majestically melancholic performance in a way only he can do. Unforgettable and emotive, it’s a beautiful keyboard musical piece. Add to that the wonderful acoustic guitar piece written by Kelly Peterson which complements the keyboards fantastically and, of course, the raw and powerful vocals from Reece and you have a melancholic but utterly beautiful song.

Even though I’m not blown away by every track here I am impressed by what seems to be a quite personal record that Reece has created for himself and hasn’t worried unduly about commerciality and radio hits. This is something I think diehard Reece fans will appreciate and even though the rawness here may not be for everyone, there will be a fair few cracking the beers open and head-banging the night away to these tunes. It’s gruff hard rock with driving melodies and a striking vocal performance from Reece. I think if you’re an established fan of Reece’s vocals you’re going to find plenty here to enjoy. Although it’s not as accessible as the Reece/Kronlund album, it does show an earthier and less polished side of Reece’s talents. So if raw sparse rock n roll is your thing this one is well worth giving a spin.

Reece - Compromise7 out of 10

Track Listing:

  1. Disaster
  2. End Of It All
  3. Fortunate Son
  4. Someone Beautiful
  5. Along For The Ride
  6. Coast To Coast
  7. All Roads Lead To War
  8. Where My Heart Belongs
  9. Everything To Everyone
  10. Evil Never Dies
  11. Treasure Hunter