Rage Of Angels – Dreamworld


Review by Woody

Escape Music

Rage of Angels is the banner under which multi-instrumentalist Ged Rylands (Ten) has decided to release his songs, his debut Dreamworld features lots of guest musicians and vocalists. After a hiatus from the music biz, Ged has returned with a collection of songs that have taken life in the interim. A multitude of guest vocalists have been drafted in to bring the songs to life including the legendary Robert Hart, Danny Vaughn, Harry Hess, Matti Alfonzetti, Ralf Scheepers and David Reed Watson.

Dreamworld is an album of traditional melodic rock with a slightly epic feel to some of the songs as many exceed six minutes in length. Ged has crafted some multi-layered musical landscapes which add to the epic feel but every song has a strong commercial flavour with lush harmony drenched choruses aplenty. In theory an album with multiple vocalists should feel disjointed as each one brings their own style and flair to each song but this album flows really nicely. Each vocalist has stuck faithfully to the source material it would seem as the album flows just right and all the songs keep the Rage Of Angels’ identity.

All of the guest vocalist’s have brought their ‘A’ game to this album and their strong vocal performances have helped elevate these songs onto another level. Everyone loves Danny Vaughn right? Well the stunning commercial-edged ‘Over and Over’ is extremely catchy and ‘Spinnin’ Wheel’ is the perfect track for his vocal style. I was extremely impressed with Robert Hart’s contributions adding an emotive beauty to the epic ballad ‘We Live, We Breathe, We Die’ and the invigorating and powerful ‘Through It All’.

Looking deeper at the songs and the music it’s the depth that Ged has added to his songs, multi layering guitars, keyboards, vocal harmonies that make some of these songs stick out and stick in your mind. It’s his musical vision that has created a quite epic sound but never neglecting the ever important hooks and that ever so important commercial edge that is essential in this genre. That epic edge can be heard on songs like ‘Dreamworld’ and ballad ‘With The Beating Of Your Heart’.

Anyone who is a fan of traditional melodic rock will find plenty to enjoy here, so if you haven’t already, give it a spin. The guitar presence gives the album a kick so it’s not too soft but the heavy use of vocal harmonies and the lush breezy choruses keep it well in commercial melodic rock territory. A very promising debut which I’m sure is a pre cursor to even bigger and brighter things in the future.

8 out of 10Rage Of Angels – Dreamworld

Track Listing:

  1. Dreamworld
  2. See You Walking By
  3. Through It All
  4. Over and Over
  5. Prelude For The Gods
  6. Falling
  7. With The Beating Of Your Heart
  8. Spinnin’ Wheel
  9. Requiem For The Forgotten Soldier
  10. We Live, We Breathe, We Die