Pessimist – Death From Above


Review by Julian Handley

MDD Records

This is the second full length album release from these purveyors of old school Tuetonic thrash metal. Having formed in 2006, Pessimist is a five piece outfit heavily influenced by the likes of Destruction, Sodom and Kreator. In 2010 the band emerged with the very well received Call to War, gaining rave reviews throughout the metal media. It is most evident that although only three years on from the debut effort, a noticable maturity and confidence has contributed to making Death from Above a more than worthy follow up.

The pace of the album rarely wanders from the level frantic, with furious drumming dictating the mood, accompanied by rib punching bass. The dual guitars twist and intertwine between the aggressive tempo of the rhythm section with consummate perfection. If the rhythm section is the cake, the guitars provide the icing and the big, fat cherry on top is supplied by the snarling vocals of Michael ‘TZ’ Schweitzer, who at times bears an uncanny sound-alike style to that of  Randy Blythe from Lamb of God.

The album is a most enjoyable journey through the 30 year history of Tuetonic thrash metal, incorporating all the key elements of aggression, anger and remorse, complemented by some outstanding arrangements, where acoustic breaks come in on the back of some of the most brutal axe sparring. With some cool album artwork, Pessimist have all the necessary ingredients to project them to a higher level, a great package indeed.

Pessimist - Death From Above8 out of 10

Track listing:

  1. Feindfahrt
  2. World Of Pain
  3. Death From Above
  4. The Fallen
  5. Antisocial Bastards
  6. Blood Will Flow
  7. Behind The Veil
  8. Don’t Care
  9. The Last Bastion