Miss Lava – Red Supergiant


Review by Jason Guest

Raging Planet

Whenever the subject of Portugal pops up, deserts and long, unending roads that fall off the horizon patrolled by long-haired, bell-bottomed stoner rockers rarely enters the conversation, does it? One listen to Miss Lava and you’d be forgiven for thinking that Lisbon was somewhere in the middle of nowhere in the 70s. Comprised of Kyuss/QOTSA/Clutch-style grooves and a bunch of sludge-tinged stoner riffs, Red Supergiant begs to be played loud. Very loud. Yet what lets the album down is the distinct lack of variation in the tracks. There’s little that stands out, least of all one track that identifies itself as anything new, original, or distinct. But that’s not to say it’s a bad album. It’s got plenty going for it – bluesy shuffles, plenty hooks, and memorable choruses – but after two or three tracks, you’ve heard it and what remains relies on the listener accepting that what they’ve seen is what they’re going to get, and nothing more. Red Supergiant doesn’t break any new ground but it’s a good rock album to blast out now and then. The ‘Ride’ video’s pretty good though…

Miss Lava - Red Supergiant5.5 out of 10

Track listing:

  1. Desert Mind
  2. Lay Down
  3. Feel My Grace
  4. Ride
  5. Crawl
  6. Hole To China
  7. Catch The Fire
  8. Murder The Crows
  9. Motel Neon
  10. Yesterday’s Gone
  11. Red Supergiant