Lacuna Coil – Delirium


One enticing trip you’d be happy to never fully recover from…

Released through Century Media on 27 May 2015 and reviewed here by Sophie Maughan

Italian Gothfathers Lacuna Coil certainly haven’t allowed anything to stand in their way since the release of 2014’s introspective Broken Crown Halo. And with a whole host of personal issues and consecutive line-up changes to contend with, it is a true testament to the cool determination of these Milano metallers. The four-piece have channelled that darkness into eighth studio album Delirium, and in turn crafted eleven enticing tracks of nightmarish decadence.

Opener and lead single ‘The House of Shame’ is undoubtedly the heaviest track the band have ever put out, and will have the most ardent fan shaking their head in glorious disbelief. Haunting vocalisations quickly give way to Andrea Ferro’s guttural screams which are juxtaposed beautifully alongside co-vocalist Cristina Scabbia’s soaring range and ethereal nuances; but it’s that newfound sense of musical aggression which truly resonates on this track. Ferro sounds like a man possessed and his wanton ferocity is offset perfectly by those machine-gun fire riffs and pummelling double kick drums – all of which combine to ensure you’ll also be bellowing “Rise! Read My Words!” without even realising.

Lush, layered melodies and infectious hooks reminiscent of Comalies-era material permeate through ‘Broken Things’, whilst the brutal assault of djent-tinged banger ‘Blood, Tears, Dust’ melds twisted electronica and that omnipresent vitriol to equally maul and delight the senses. Title track ‘Delirium’ replaces the aforementioned charge with fluid simplicity and repetitive vocal lines spliced with Eastern-style subtleties, but together these elements fuse to create a relentless earworm. The band has likened the album to an immersive experience in which they take the listener on a trip “exploring the horrors that we must face in everyday life”- at no other point does this concept bleed through so heavily as here. Alter Bridge’s Myles Kennedy is on hand to provide a tailor-made guitar solo mid-way through emotive slow-burner ‘Downfall’, before LC invoke the type of cinematic flair befitting of Dario Argento on eerie ‘Take Me Home’ and stomping closer ‘Ultima Ratio’ – the latter once again showcasing the contrasting vocal prowess alongside super tight production courtesy of band-mate slash multi-instrumentalist Marco Coti-Zelati.

Lacuna Coil might have drawn their creative inspiration from an old sanatorium nestled in the Italian hills, but there is nothing torturous about this sonic journey. Harnessing raw emotion, melodic bombast and enough experimentation to excite old and new fans alike, Delirium is one enticing trip you’d be happy to never fully recover from.

Lacuna Coil – Delirium8.5 out of 10

Track list:

  1. The House Of Shame
  2. Broken Things
  3. Delirium
  4. Blood, Tears, Dust
  5. Downfall
  6. Take Me Home
  7. You Love Me ‘Cause I Hate You
  8. Ghost In The Mist
  9. My Demons
  10. Claustrophobia
  11. Ultima Ratio