Khaos Theory – Primevil Elements


Review by Rich Ward

A huge bludgeoning riff opens this new EP from Khaos Theory. ‘Fall Back Down’ kicks in with a riff reminiscent of Judas Priest and soon develops into something clearly more influenced by late 90s Thrash of the Metallica/Megadeth ilk but underpinned with a sense of melody giving a contemorary metal sound.

Next up is ‘Take A Shot’ which sees the Redditch based quartet drive home their message with another dose of riff driven metal seemingly dealing with difficult relationships. The pace slows a little with ‘Burn Away’, a laid back ballad with an undercurrent of heaviness to it. It’s the sort of track that could develop into something magnificent in a live setting.

‘Dismay’ is by the far stand out track of the EP. At four minutes it is a concise and direct slab of pure metal, with a really strong vocal, tasty riffs and a solid rhythm section that doesn’t let up. In this respect it would have made a better opener. It rounds off the main section of this well produced EP.

The inclusion of three bonus acoustic tracks do lessen the impact somewhat of the first four tracks. What they do achieve, however, is show a greater depth to the band giving new listeners a broader scope of the band and for existing fans gives exceptional value for money.

Primevil Elements serves an excellent introduction to Khaos Theory, and shows a band with the potential of great things ahead. But don’t take my word for it; the whole EP can be previewed at the Khaos Theory Webstore where you can also buy a download or hard copy.

Khaos Theory play the Roadhouse, Birmingham 17th February and The Golden Cross, Redditch on 21st February.

7 out of 10khaostheoryep

1. Fall Back Down
2. Take A Shot
3. Burn Away
4. Dismay
5. Goodbye (for now)
6. Find The Light
7. Live A Lie