Kataklysm – Waiting For The End To Come


Review by Brady Deeprose

Nuclear Blast

Kataklysm, the notoriously hit-and-miss death metal tyrants, have returned with Waiting For The End To Come, potentially the most ‘hit’ album of their career. The intro to ‘Fire’, a veritable dirge of a track, sets the scene for the aural assault to come. Blast-beats a-plenty, this album gets right back to DM basics, but with tons of melody added to give a depth generally reserved for less brutal efforts.

For anyone that caught their set at Bloodstock this year, I’d advise you give this album a spin. Live, they were powerful but there’s really no comparison to the record with tracks like the pounding ‘If I Was God…I’d Burn It All’ and the frankly brutal ‘Empire Of Dirt’ that hit so much harder through my headphones that they did at Catton Hall. It was their show however that inspired me to check the album out though, so they must be doing something right on the live front.

It’s not the outstanding tracks that make the album, it’s the lack of fillers. There are no flat moments which for the band’s eleventh studio album, is a mighty feat indeed. Whether it’s the bluesey sections of ‘Dead And Buried’ or the more modern thump of ‘Under Lawless Skies’, Kataklysm seem determined to stay fresh and interesting. And it’s working.

By all accounts, not being extensively familiar with their back catalogue myself, Waiting For The End To Come is one of the French-Canadian’s strongest efforts to date, and as a stand-alone death metal record, it pulls no punches. Yes, purists will probably complain because the band has added a little more melody than they used to employ but, to these ears, that’s the best decision they’ve made in a while.

Kataklysm – Waiting For The End To Come7 out of 10

Track Listing:

  1. Fire
  2. If I Was God – I’d Burn It All
  3. Like Animals
  4. Kill The Elite
  5. Under Lawless Skies
  6. Dead & Buried
  7. The Darkest Days of Slumber
  8. Real Blood – Real Scars
  9. The Promise
  10. Empire Of Dirt
  11. Elevate