Heights – Old Lies For Young Lives


Review by Dan Perks

Transcend Music (Released 29 April 2013)

So far 2013 is shaping up to be a great year for British alternative music. With so much young talent oozing out of these isles, it’s hard to keep up with it all. If it’s all going a bit too fast for you to catch, let me slow it down for a second to point out one album you can’t afford to miss. Old Lies For Young Lives by Heights is going to be a solid forerunner in the Album of the year stakes.

Old Lies For Young Lives is a superbly well executed post-hardcore symphony. The album is instant; it doesn’t need multiple listens to draw you in. From the offset the guitar melodies entwine with punchy riffs and there is a level of angst and pain that feels so raw. This anger is profoundly prominent on tracks ‘Eleven Eyes’ (which features Sam Carter of Architects) and ‘In Transit’. Vocalist Alex Monty’s screams sound so frustrated and angry; every verse is as explosive as the last. The song with the most impact on the album ‘Windowless’ is a deep and harrowing journey through the tale of a teen suicide. The slow reverb guitars hover under Alex’s raging voice, the song builds tension before fading through an almost classical piano outro. It’s haunting, angry and utterly powerful.

If you match Heights against some of their peers, this release catapults them to the top of the list. While bands like Bring Me The Horizon are choosing to experiment with electronica and diversifying their sounds, Heights have chosen to define their sound. Without straying too far from the path they have chosen Old Lies For Young Lives is a maturing sound for such a young band. If this progression continues we could very well see Heights headlining some larger tours in 12 months’ time.

Heights - OLFYL 20139 out of 10

Track listing:

  1. The Best Years
  2. Eleven Eyes (ft. Sam Carter)
  3. March 1964
  4. The Noble Lie
  5. Windowless
  6. In Transit
  7. Stray Rats
  8. Repeat
  9. Wake Up, Fall Asleep