Heaven Shall Burn – Veto


Review by Brady Deeprose

Century Media

Heaven Shall Burn are a prominent force in the metalcore scene and have been building their reputation over the last 15 years. The band, famed for their eco and socio-political viewpoints, have been writing aggressive music and from their home of Saalfeld and have orchestrated their plan of world domination with great success. The German’s 7th studio album Veto won’t disappoint the hardcore fans as the slogan seems to be ‘much of the same’.

The album, track to track, is uncompromisingly heavy. The band have dug deep and continued the onslaught that the Iconoclast trilogy delivered with aplomb, serving us ‘Land Of The Upright Ones’ and ‘You Will Be Godless’: both stand up to any of the bands back catalogue. What gives Veto its character is the lyrical content, from Lady Godiva to Gojira’s favourite charity Sea Shepherd, there are some unusual lyrical themes: it’s refreshing to see a band in this genre trying to cover some new ground and showing some genuine passion.

Veto is the sound of a band in its prime. Heaven Shall Burn have stuck strong to their roots and produced what is sure to be a fan-pleasing and generally well received album but I think the band could really do with something fresh. After listening to 2008’s Iconoclast, Veto could just be a continuation with the style and production being almost identical. That said, the songs are, in my opinion, ‘better’. While there is little sonic progression, their song-writing has improved and tracks like the 5:46 epic ‘Beyond Redemption’ are testament to that fact. Without sounding too contradictory, the tracks are great, but there is nothing really new for the fans to take on.

To surmise, if you’re into the heavier side of metal, you will more than likely enjoy this album: It doesn’t hold back or let up and the lyrics really have some meaning. For anyone looking for a new side of HSB, then sadly this isn’t what you want to hear but with the sound they have, who could really want anything else?

Heaven Shall Burn - Veto7 out of 10

Track listing:

  1. Godiva
  2. Land Of The Upright Ones
  3. Die Stürme Rufen Dich
  4. Fallen
  5. Hunters Will Be Hunted
  6. You Will Be Godless
  7. Valhalla
  8. Antagonized
  9. Like Gods Among Mortals
  10. 53 Nations
  11. Beyond Redemption