Hacride – Back To Where You’ve Never Been


Review by Raymond Westland

Indie Recordings

French progressive/post metal outfit Hacride went through a bit of upheaval. Several band members had to contend with personal struggles and the band was forced to replace their longtime singer Samuel Bourreau with newcomer Luis Roux. With the new line-up firmly in place they recorded Back To Where You’ve Never Been, arguably Hacride’s finest hour to date.

With Lazarus, the previous album, Hacride pretty much pushed the boundaries of their specific style to the limit. It’s a still a very brilliant and rich exercise in everything progressive, but it’s not the sort of record one would listen to on a regular basis. On Back To Where You’ve Never Been the band refined their approach and pretty much cut the average length of their song material in half, while still retaining the post metal/progressive leanings of their previous albums.

It’s was a smart thing to do, because tracks like ‘Strike Ever To More’, ‘Overcome’ and ‘Ghosts Of The Modern World’ are wonderfully balanced and downright catchy at times. Vocalist Luis Roux turns out to out to be right man for the job, because with his versatile pipes he really manages to push the album to the next level. Songs like ‘Edification Of The Fall’ and ‘Requiem For A Lullaby’ are two further poignant examples of the band’s innovative streak and forward thinkingness. Each and every song on Back To Where You’ve Never Been can easily hold its own against anything a band like Gojira has to offer. Frankly, I find this album way more enjoyable than L’Enfant Sauvage by the Duplantier brothers and co.

Back To Where You’ve Never Been is a wonderful exercise in progressive and forward thinking metal. It features great songs with all the experimental curve balls one has come to expect from Hacride. Definitely one of the highlights of this year.

Hacride – Back To Where You’ve Never Been9 out of 10

Track Listing:

  1. Introversion
  2. Strike Ever To More
  3. Synesthesia
  4. Overcome
  5. Edification Of The Fall
  6. To Numb The Pain
  7. Ghosts Of A Modern Well
  8. Requiem For A Lullaby




  1. Love this album, love this band…pretty much the score I’d have given it! Really hope they make it over here this year.

Comments are closed.