Godsized – Time


Review by Paul Castles

Released April 22

Anyone who saw Godsized perform recently at the Birmingham Asylum will be in no doubt as to what a committed and creative bunch these hirsute headbangers are. The Londoners have riffs of seismic proportions and when they crank things up all resistance really is futile. The band’s influences are definitely old school, Led Zepps and Sabbath and they’re often aligned with Black Label Society who they memorably supported on a UK tour a couple of years ago after Zakk Wylde was blown away by their pulsating ‘Brothers in Arms’ EP. They showcase a pounding Southern style that at times stirs thoughts of the mighty Down although the quality of Time signifies that Godsized are very much a band on the up. Frontman Glen Kormer is a testosterone-filled tornado blitzing everything in his path with his passion and energy.

The longest number on the 12-track ‘Time’ is Mother and this ballad highlights the extra intricacy and maturity Godsized have added to their songwriting with more layers than a Mary Berry spongecake. Godsized though are no nonsense rockers and on tracks such as the captivating ‘Heavy Load’ they can really let the shackles hit the floor and just hit the strings with all they’ve got. ‘Time’ deserves to elevate Godsized up the ladder… and by more than just one rung.

When they performed on a four-band bill at the Asylum in February things overran and Godsized fell foul of the curfew and had to cut their set short by around half-an-hour. They will hopefully be back in the Midlands to make amends in the near future. In the meantime, if you have an appetite for heavy atmospheric sludge then you will enjoy filling your plate with Godsized and you’ll come back for second helpings.

Godsized - Time7 out of 10

Track listing:

  1. Soul Taker
  2. Through to You
  3. Heavy Load (single)
  4. It’s a Hanging
  5. Mother
  6. Moving on
  7. No Reprieve
  8. Final Act
  9. Perfect Moment
  10. The Bounty Hunter
  11. One More Time
  12. Still Waiting



  1. Errr is this a gig review or album review??? Would be great to keep on subject as i want to know what the album is like not how they were cut short at a local gig!

Comments are closed.