Godsized – Heavy Lies The Crown


More licks than a fat kid at an ice cream shop…

Review by Dan Perks

Release date: 30 March 2015

Often hailed as the UK’s answer to Black Label Society and renowned for their guitar heavy sound, Godsized have received copious amounts of praise through their career. So it may come as some surprise that the band remain unsigned and have so far released all of their material independently. Serving as the follow up to the 2013 full length release Time, with Heavy Lies The Crown, Godsized have really evolved into a rock powerhouse, and would sit alongside Alter Bridge and Black Stone Cherry in anybody’s playlist.

The bands melodic tones and big riffs are infectious and captivating. Tracks such as ‘Saving You’ and ‘Never A Better Time’ give more licks than a fat kid at an ice cream shop. The riffs still have a touch of stoner rock to them, and the vocal harmonies create a striking dynamic. Vocalist Glen Korner has a diverse and unique vocal sound that he utilises really well, mixing his highs and lows to maximise the contrast with the riffs and lead work to create a massive sound. From start to finish Heavy Lies The Crown is a pleasure to listen to, it’s the kind of album that you can sing along to when you’re driving, cleaning the house or even in the shower. The album flows through tracks such as ‘Fade’, ‘Forgotten Friend’ and ‘Pay Your Debt’. It’s so easy to fall in love with this album; it’s easy and uncomplicated just pure audio pleasure.

This album certainly feels likes a large commercial rock album, yet still carry’s the trademarks of grimy southern rock. Heavy Lies The Crown really is a massive album for Godsized and it certainly has the potential to launch them into the spot light. It would be interesting to see what level Godsized could rise to with the support of a decent record label. Riffs, licks, hooks, big catchy tunes – a worthy addition to any record collection.

Godsized – HeavyLiesTheCrown20157.5 out of 10

Track listing:

  1. Welcome To Hell
  2. Saving You
  3. Pushing Against The Tide
  4. Never A Better Time
  5. Web Lies
  6. Fade
  7. Forgotten Friend
  8. Do You See What I See?
  9. Stone Cold Blow To The Head
  10. Out Of Fear
  11. Pay Your Debt