Fireroad – I Got Sound


Review by Rich Ward

133 RPM Records

Release Date: 24 February 2014

The World hasn’t quite noticed yet, but South Wales has recently been turning out a large number of good quality hard rock bands writing, recording and releasing their own albums. Any serious gig goer will probably now have already encountered the hard working Buffalo Summer and maybe Hand Of Dimes. This brings us to Fireroad, the next band any fan of good classic-influenced rock music should try and get to see in 2014.

I was lucky enough to catch them at last year’s Steelhouse Festival who opened the Saturday and was suitably impressed. Six months on and their low key debut ‘I Got Sound’ gets fully revamped and a proper release. A well packaged 11 track album that packs a Calzaghe strength punch. Recorded and produced by the band and Jon Constantine, the fact that it has been mastered by Pete Maher(U2, Killers) gives you some idea that Fireroad mean business.

‘I Got Sound’ is driving hard rock with a melodic edge jam packed full of tasteful lead fills, and that’s just the first track. The production is crisp and the rhythm section is tight throughout. With eleven tracks it’s not got any fillers making it difficult to pick any faults with it. Why Planet Rock haven’t yet picked up on this is baffling. Any number of tracks would be perfect for heavy rotation. ‘Never Wrong’ is one of the heaviest tracks on the album, and with a blistering solo is a personal favourite.

With a wall of sound and heavy on the melodies, it would be easy to draw comparisons with Birmingham’s own Casino, and the similarly associated Stereophonics. But the comparisons go much deeper; ‘Knock It Away’ with its slide work could be Black Crowes at their finest. In an age where there seems to be more bands than ever, releasing a surfeit of self produced albums it’s sometimes difficult to find anything that you can really enthuse about. ‘I Got Sound’ is one of those exceptions. An early contender for album of the year.

Fireroad – I Got Sound9 out of 10

Fireroad make an overdue appearance in the Midlands at the Sitwell Tavern in Derby on 28 June.

Track Listing:

  1. I Got Sound
  2. Find A Way
  3. Leave My Heart
  4. Line Me Up
  5. Before The Matinee
  6. Never Wrong
  7. Falling Down
  8. Sundown
  9. Swinging Brick
  10. Knock It Away
  11. Rainwater




  1. Great review. If you are in the Derby/Nottingham area you will be interested to know that Fireroad will be playing at the Sitwerll Tavern, Sitwell St, Derby DE1 2JR on Saturday 28th June 2014 and will be supported by local singer/songwriter Harriet. It is a FREE gig and I am sure you will have the opportunity to get hold of your copy of the “I Got Sound” album and meet the band !! (You never know, you might even get your copy signed !!)

Comments are closed.