Exit State – Let’s See It All


Review by Andy Boden

Rocksector Records

It would appear that The North’s very own hidden gem Exit State have hit paydirt with their third studio album Let’s See it All. Having followed the progression of the band over the last three years or so, and having seen them perform many of the new tracks live, it was evident even before its release that the new album would be something special. And boy does it not disappoint. From the opening chords of the pulsating ‘Pull The Thread’ to the closing strains of ‘Crystalline’, Exit State offer something different, something refreshing, without having to cross genre boundaries and slap a pretentious, meaningless name against it.  Title track ‘Let’s See it All’ typifies what Exit State are about, if there was a song that encapsulates everything that is good about these boys its right here in this very track. The album bounces along at a fair old lick, mixing up the heavier aspects (such as in the tremendous ‘Sugarcoat’) with the catchier tracks such as ‘Save Us from Ourselves’.  ‘Die Zombie’ is somewhat darker, more menacing (the clue is in the title), but nonetheless adds another dimension to the bands song-writing skills.

Exit State is the right band at the right time. With similar-style bands such as Alter Bridge, Black Stone Cherry and Shinedown filling arenas worldwide, Exit State is tapping the same rich vein of hard, heavy melodic rock. Let’s See It All should see Exit State stepping up to the next level. But you don’t have to take my word for it, their relentless gigging schedule will undoubtedly see them in a town near you sometime soon. Do yourselves a favour, get yourselves along to a show. And while you’re there, buy the album. You won’t be disappointed.

Exit State 20138 out of 10

Track Listing:

  1. Pull The thread
  2. Sun In My Eyes
  3. Let’s See it All
  4. The Pain I Demand
  5. Sugarcoat
  6. Lenny
  7. Die Zombie
  8. Elastic
  9. Save Us From Ourselves
  10. This Part Of Me
  11. Crystalline