Eternity – Pestiferous Hymns – Rev. I-I-XXXIII


Review by Jason Guest

Having been inhabiting the darkness since 1994, after two demoes and three split 7” EPs, Eternity’s first full-length, …And The Gruesome Returns With Every Night, appeared ten years later in 2004. Following another split 7” EP in 2004, it would be another three years before their second album, Funeral Mass, appeared in 2007. Not a band to break with tradition, five years later and Eternity have delivered their third album, an album that makes it abundantly clear that Eternity are not about to compromise.

While the guitars spew jarring melodies against a wave of harsh chords and Basilisk’s lethal drumming, Akrieg’s ravaged blackened shrieks flesh out the tracks while his angst-laden, almost theatrical vocal that makes an appearance here and there adds fuel to the blackened burn. And with Akrieg’s bass audible in the mix, the tracks have more weight than the band’s influences and so the darkness is felt that much more deeply against the wall of fire backdrop. Though fairly predictable, the structures are solid and the extended passages where the riffs are repeated tend more towards the hypnotic rather than the tedious and so deepen the bleak atmospherics of the album. Whether it’s the intricate and relentless guitar work of M.Alicious and Diabolus or the torturously slow passages and the accompanying oral histrionics of Akrieg, it’s the ominous atmospherics, the wicked blasphemy and the galloping might of Eternity’s Pestiferous Hymns – Rev. I-I-XXXIII that give it its sinister power. With the level of devotion to classic black metal demonstrated here, it’s apparent that Eternity aren’t about to make any pretensions about who they are. Pestiferous Hymns – Rev. I-I-XXXIII is testament to that.

7 out of 10

Track Listing:

  1. Down To The Southern Abyss
  2. Temple Of Flesh
  3. …Like 1000 Suns
  4. …Of Satan’s Blood
  5. Reborn Through The Flame (Against The Creation)
  6. Waiting In The Abyss
  7. Black Clouds On A Psychic Horizon