Eradikator – Edge Of Humanity


Thrash-mungous metal from Birmingham

Review by Mark Granger

Divebomb Records

Release date: 17 July 2015

Eradikator wear their influences on the sleeve, the riffs of thrash giants like Metallica, Slayer, Exodus and Death Angel are obviously buried deep into the subconsciousness of this Birmingham four piece and they don’t care who knows it.

Edge Of Humanity opens with the thrash-mungous ‘Mesmerised’, a tune that sounds like it’s suffering from a fair bit of whiplash but it’s pulled off which such conviction that you can’t help but be carried along for the ride. The same is true of ‘Man Behind The Mask’ cops a lot of ‘Frayed Ends Of Sanity’ but the way it’s played and sang gives the song a life of its own.

‘Astral Body’ bucks uses a much more melodic motif, which is a little more Maiden than Metallica and on the galloping ‘Season Of Rage’ the band begin to sound much more individual by mixing in some Thin Lizzy-esque guitar lines. But the band are at their most impressive on the maniacal ‘Dead Hands Of The Past’ which sees the band at their most aggressive.

Closing track, the instrumental ‘Kairos Passing’ begins like it’s going to take another chunk out of ‘Tallicas back catalogue but then it surprises with some impassioned, bluesy lead guitar taking it into its own world. It sounds like they had the most fun with this track, as it builds slowly, throwing idea in hither and thither – phasing bass, delicately picked melodies and chunky riffs are all welcome here. As such it’s a real album highlight and possibly a sign of what the band may do and what they are capable of, showing hints of a proggier side to go along with all that thrashular goodness.

Edge Of Humanity is a well-crafted slice of thrash that at times lives on the wrong side of derivative. Then again most thrash does so it’s down to the quality of the songs to make it stand out from the pack, and Eradikator sure can write a good thrash tune. However, it’s when they mix in something different (‘Seasons Of Rage’, ‘Kairos Passing’) or just head at it full tilt (‘Mesmerised’, ‘Dead Hands Of The Past’) that the band really shine. With that in mind, it could be said that Edge Of Humanity is the sound of a band really starting to find their own path.

Eradikator – EdgeOfHumanity20157 out of 10

Track listing:

  1. Mesmerised
  2. Man Behind The Mask
  3. Edge Of Humanity
  4. Astral Body
  5. Seasons Of Rage
  6. Fortress Unknown
  7. The Great Deception
  8. Dead Hands Of The Past
  9. Kairos Passing