Dirty Sunshine – Flashlight


Review by Tony Gaskin

Fans of avant-garde rock outfit, Anubis, will be familiar with the name Simon Haycock, but outside this circle Simon is an unknown artist, but with his new project, Dirty Sunshine, he aims to put that right with the release of his debut album “Flashlight”

His first foray into the solo quagmire is an album that in the main reflects his heavier rock background, but has some surprises along the way, and in this first effort he is ably assisted by his fellow Anubian, Simon Lees, who brings his immense experience to the project.

We kick off with the ballsy rock anthem and title track “Flashlight” which sets the overall tone of the album, but the aforementioned surprises come in the guise of the ballad “Dreams Take Me Home” and the easy listening “New Beginning”

On first listen through, I’m struck by a sense of someone who is writing some deeply personal stuff here. The lyrics and song writing belie the fact that this is a debut album, whilst former Budgie axeman Lees brings all his technical know how to give credence to the songs.

Standout tracks for me are the heavy and fast “Out of Control” and the hauntingly beautiful “Dreams Take Me Home”, and not forgetting the bonus final track, an atmospheric cover version of “Martha’s Harbour” featuring Isis of Anubis on vocals.

7.5 out of 10