DGM – Momentum


Review by Julian Handley

Scarlet Records

Hailing from Italy, DGM have been steadily churning out some of Europe’s finest progressive power metal without really achieving the recognition that they so richly deserve. Originally forming in 1994 DGM have had their fair share of personnel changes in the effort to strive for greatness. Momentum is the bands eighth studio album, and it certainly delivers. Doubters have questioned Mark Basile’s past vocal offerings with DGM, having the unenviable role of replacing fan-favourite Titta Tani on mic duties. In my opinion, Basile thoroughly banishes any demons of the past, and stamps his authority, firmly as the rightful successor at the mic stand.

Momentum treats the listener to eleven quality tracks, drenched in progressive power metal excellence. The standard of musicianship is simply stunning, with the punchy rhythm section of  Fabio Constantino on drums and Andrea Arcangeli on bass, Simone Mularoni exhausts every note as he shreds the life out of the guitar, only for Emanuele Casali to step in and hypnotise with his multi layered, swirling keyboards. Comparisons fall between Symphony X and Dream Theater, as they have set the standards for the genre. But DGM have an armoury of great songs and fantastic playing, combined with enough talent to forge their very own, special identity. Personally I find progressive power metal challenging on the listener, but if it’s done as well as this is, then it captivates and mesmerises, with its bombastic, technical delivery.

Stand out tracks for me are ‘Trust’, and ‘Numb’. Thankfully DGM keep the song names of all eleven tracks nice and simple by just using a single word title, because it’s within the contents that the complexity lies. Hopefully Momentum will carry the band forward, and on to greater heights and a wider audience.

DGM - Momentum8.5 out of 10

Track listing:

  1. Reason (featuring Russell Allen)
  2. Trust
  3. Universe
  4. Numb
  5. Pages
  6. Repay
  7. Chaos ( featuring Viggo Lofstad )
  8. Remembrance
  9. Overload
  10. Void
  11. Blame