Dagoba – Post Mortem Nihil Est


Review by Raymond Westland


It’s been quite a while since I picked up anything released by French industrial/groove metal outfit Dagoba. What Hell Is About (2006) was an excellent (and still is) a terrific album, but for some reason I never bothered to listen to Face The Colossus (2008) and Poseidon (2010). Let’s see if Post Mortem Nihil Est, the latest Dagoba effort, will rekindle my interest in anything Dagoba.

First of all, a little introduction lesson. Try to imagine the best elements from Strapping Young Lad’s Alien and Demanufacture by Fear Factory combined with some Slipknot-styled rage and solid grooves straight out of the Pantera/Machine Head school and you’ll have a good idea what Post Mortem Nihil Est is all about. It’s a tried and tested formula, but Dagoba pulls it off with style and vigor.

One part of the secret is the solid songwriting skills shown by the band. Most songs are compact and well-balanced with memorable hooks to die for. They form the perfect foundation for the thunderous industrial metal attack in the best S.Y.L./Fear Factory tradition. Tracks like ‘The Realm Black’, ‘Kiss Me Kraken’ and ‘Oblivion Is For The Living’ are poignant examples of Dagoba’s fortitude.

Logan Mader (Gojira, Devildriver, Divine Heresy) took care of the production duties. He gave Post Mortem Nihil Est a crisp and massive sound, which enhances the industrial feel of the record.

Dagoba is back with a vengeance and Post Mortem Nihil Est is living proof of that. This album will be a pleasant surprise for people who still mourn the loss of Strapping Young Lad and it certainly packs a bigger punch than the last Fear Factory album. Therefore a solid effort all round.

Dagoba – Post Mortem Nihil Est8.5 out of 10

Track Listing:

  1. When Winter…
  2. The Realm Black
  3. I, Reptile
  4. Yes We Die
  5. Kiss Me Kraken
  6. Nevada
  7. The Great Wonder
  8. The Day After The Apocalypse
  9. Son Of A Ghost
  10. Oblivion Is For The Living
  11. By The Sword