Colour Of Noise – Colour Of Noise


Review by Allan Jones

Colour Of Noise/Townsend Music

Release Date: 4 December 2015

A classic rock five-piece from Brighton, Colour of Noise have funded their self-titled debut album independently through Pledgemusic. They describe themselves as being ‘steeped in the spirit of the late 60’s British Blues Boom and early 70’s Stadium Rock’, and it’s a pretty decent description – but not one that tells the whole story.

Yes, there’s a massive vintage aesthetic going on here, and the band themselves make a point of stating how they ‘use carefully chosen vintage and custom guitars, backline, and record onto two inch tape’ as though establishing their vintage credentials is paramount. However, they then tear that down by saying it’s not ‘because [they’re] that stuck on a principle, it just sounds better to [their] ears.’

It’s probably just as well – the album itself does lean toward that era, but filtered through a far more modern sensibility and style. The band members are (for the most part) alumni of the late 80s and early 90s, playing with bands such as Little Angels, Furyon, and The Jeevas. This does come through a lot in terms of the hooks and harmonies and so on, but it’s been used to inform and shape rather than to dominate proceedings.

What we’re left with is perhaps the very best of things in a new classic rock album: something that takes the vibe and feel of an era, and brings it bang up to date. Every track on this album has a unique flavour, and there’s not a ballad to be seen. The production is superb – everything is crisp, clear and crunchy and it still feels warm and inviting, too. What we’re left with is a product of there here and now, referencing the past with affection and respect.

As for the songs themselves? They’re brilliant – full of energy and bounce and that feelgood factor that ensures it’s going to be on repeat for a good, long while. In fact, it’s damned hard to pick out favourite tracks. Every time I listen to a track it becomes my favourite – right up until the next track starts, and I change my mind all over again. There really isn’t a weak track on the entire album, and my only complaint is that there are only ten tracks making 38 minutes or so of music.

In short, buy this album if you’re into classic rock – you won’t be disappointed.

9 out of 10Album artwork front


  1. Can You Hear Me?
  2. Can’t Take It With You
  3. Medicine Man
  4. Head On
  5. Drive It Like You Stole It
  6. You Only Call Me
  7. Heavy
  8. Temptation
  9. Rock Bottom
  10. A Great Day For Rock And Roll


Comments are closed.