Cervello – Cervello


Review by Andy Boden

For young, upcoming bands, debut albums can become a money pit, or can become a springboard to greater things. Your introduction to the world’s media and to maybe a planet full of new new fans; your USP to promoters, booking agents and venue managers is laid bare; potentially your whole future; everything is contained within a tiny 177.5mm³ jewel case. So it has to be done properly. Luckily for Cervello, they have nailed it.

Hailing, in the main, from Stockholm, Cervello rapidly developed a solid reputation as songwriters of some standing, and very quickly drew attention from all quarters of the music industry. These included legendary producer/writer Max Martin with whom they wrote ‘Cause I Am’, and Rob Zombie cohort John 5, with whom they co-wrote the stirring ‘First Time’.

It’s not difficult to pick out influences in the style and execution on many of the tracks on offer, what is impressive is how well Cervello pull it off. This is aided in no small part by the crystal clear production, courtesy of the deft-fingered Henrik Edenhed at Cosmos Studios, who has successfully harnessed the energy and power coursing through the tracks whilst still letting the youngsters have their head. Michel Baioni has a fine, soaring voice that sits beautifully over the grinding, soaring fretwork of Jay Bartlett (Counterpoint) and Michel himself. The rhythm section of Antonio Baioni (drums) and William Fuglesang (bass), although held in check, are still allowed to maintain the vibrancy of the songs, again due to the masterful work of Mr Edenhed, forming a classy backdrop to each and every track. Arguably the stand out track on the album (although ‘First Time’ does run it close), ‘Carry Me Home’ is the first single released, and has quickly rattled up a startling 152,000 views on YouTube in its first few weeks of release.

As far as debut albums go, this is as good as it gets. For lovers of classy, polished AOR with a Foo Fighters/Lost Prophets/Linkin Park flavour to it, you can’t go wrong. If everything goes to form, you will be hearing a lot more about Cervello in the coming months.

Rating 8 out of 10

Track listing:

  1. Carry Me Home
  2. C1
  3. REM
  4. First Time
  5. Cause I Am
  6. The Cure
  7. Inside Out
  8. Stay and Bleed
  9. Top of The World
  10. Colors