BST – In The Blink Of An Eye


Review by Brian McGowan

I wonder if BST know what they’ve got. Every band is the sum of their influences, it’s how they bend and shape those influences into their own image that makes the difference, and the number of influences that young Swedish hopefuls, BST take in their stride is breathtaking. They pepper the album with a kaleidoscopic list of clues: TNT’s sinuous, steely yet tuneful strut (‘The Hall Of Crossfire’), Europe’s hook heavy hard rock (‘She Doesn’t Love You Anymore’), Robbie Valentine’s pop sophistication (the balladic and beautiful ‘Losing Your Heart’), often exalting the music with the power of heavyweight Prog.

With one eye clearly on the Japanese market, the album begins grandly with the short, neo-classical instrumental, ‘Ouverture’. This style of opening track is often written off, as I have done, merely as a marketing ploy. But here there’s something more substantial. The title playfully hints at artistic, classical pretensions, then confirms that notion, beginning modestly then rising to a cinematic crescendo in just over 70 seconds. It is echoed, in brief bursts, throughout the album. The dichotomy it creates, juxtaposed with the band’s high powered hard rock is very, very appealing. Elsewhere, ‘Release The Beast’ twists and tweaks the TNT template entertainingly before returning it to its original shape, while the well-crafted ‘Breaking Free’ and ‘You Cannot Survive Life’ rush headlong into HEAT territory, driven by big, urgent choruses, giving the album a sense of unstoppable momentum.

At 9 tracks and 35 minutes (including the instrumental opener) it’s a bit short weight, but it grabs your attention and doesn’t let go. And that’s the point, I think. One to watch, no question.

BST - In The Blink Of An Eye8 out of 10

Track Listing:

  1. Ouverture
  2. The Hall Of Crossfire
  3. Destruction
  4. She Doesn’t Love You Anymore
  5. Release The Beast
  6. Breaking Free
  7. Time To Light The Fire
  8. You Cannot Survive Life
  9. Losing Your Heart