Battle Beast – Battle Beast


Review by Julian Handley

Nuclear Blast Records

Finnish exponents of pure metal, Battle Beast are back with a vengeance. Having taken the Euro metal scene by storm upon their emergence with the excellent “Steel” album in early 2012, they landed prestigious touring opportunities, supporting the likes of Nightwish and Sonata Arctica. However, just nine months after the launch of their debut, Nitte Vanska declared her intention to quit the band. This proved to be a major headache for the Beast’s as their metal machine was rapidly gaining momentum. With concert bookings taken, a decision was made and the search was on to find a replacement for Nitte, who’s powerful vocals had determined the sound of Battle Beast. Enter Noora Louhima, a find of the rarest of treasures, she stepped up to the mic, and with leather lungs, she unleashed a voice, with the power to summon the Gods. Battle Beast signed up Louhima and busily set about recording, producing and mixing through the later months of 2012 in preparation for the eponymous, sophomore release simply titled Battle Beast.

So does the second album deliver? The answer is a resounding yes. This is pure metal indulgence, crunching riffs, high screams, blistering solos and air punching choruses. ‘Let it Roar’ opens proceedings with a gentle keyboard entry and initial soft vocals until we reach the chorus and then Louhima lets her vocals steal the show, unleashing her earth-shattering screams. I have a particular fondness for the track ‘Neuromancer’, which is more like a metal mix of a techno disco number, a brave move, but infectiously catchy. ‘Machine Revolution’ is another hi-tech effort which bounces along in a commercially acceptable vibe, capable of  breaking down anti metal barriers. ‘Over the Top’ goes the way of its title with a great tribal, rhythmic chantalong chorus. A great follow up album, by anyone’s standards.

Battle Beast 20138 out of 10

Track Listing:

  1. Let it Roar
  2. Out of Control
  3. Out on the Streets
  4. Neuromancer
  5. Raven
  6. Into the Heart of  Danger
  7. Machine Revolution
  8. Golden Age
  9. Kingdom
  10. Over the Top
  11. Fight, Kill, Die
  12. Black Ninja
  13. Rain Man