Atila – V


Dark and disturbing elctronica…

Review by Jason Guest

Signal Rex: Bandcamp, website

Release date: 18 September 2015

While his black metal / noise project Örök (Facebook, Bandcamp) is making waves, Portugal’s 22-year old Miguel Béco has turned his hand to dark electronica under the name Atila. With its industrial sounds heaving with menace and its atmospherics promising both catharsis and collapse, V is a dark and brooding work. Simultaneously fascinating and foreboding, while the beautifully vast expanses of the album engage and engulf, there is a distinct suspicion that we are being furtively charmed into a false sense of security before the beauty collapses around leaving us to face whatever horrors remain.

Glowering and gloomy, the soundscapes though broad and ostensibly open are dense and intense and the industrial grind of the album is relentless and remorseless. The beats and the rhythms are ritualistic, persistent, and coloured with enchanting melodies over cold, earthy and emotive atmospherics. Warm and deep electronic pulses, subtle melodies drifting through intricately-woven structures, and astutely-employed distortions blended into a myriad of shades and hues strewn across the work, this is a deftly-crafted album that carries as much might as it does dejection and woe. Despite the ominous feel of the album, there’s that curious comfort and familiarity that being confronted with the depths of inner darkness brings. And that’s what makes it all the more disturbing…

Atila V 20158 out of 10

Track Listing:

  1. Acreção
  2. Carne
  3. Alma
  4. Homem
  5. Disseminação
  6. Ritos Fúnebres
  7. Marcha da Cinza
  8. Colapso