Alice In Chains – The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here


Review by Tosh Davies

When Alice In Chains decided to make their comeback from a self imposed hiatus some years ago, I for one rejoiced at the prospect of some new music. Black Gives Way To Blue was a great album, full of that AIC quirky grunge sound which they evolved throughout their careers to make their own unmistakable sound.

William DuVall who replaced Lane Stanley had pretty big shoes to fill; thankfully he did this with the dignity and respect worthy of any replacement. The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here is the second album to feature him, and the second album from the rejuvenated band who have found a new reignited purpose. Taking their honed sound to a new level entirely, this album is a weighty slab of guitar powered, melancholic pieces of art. Each track is an aural journey of proportions far too deep to sometimes comprehend or even understand which makes listening to the album as a whole, a lot more compelling. From the first tones of ‘Hollowi to the truly gratifying seven minutes and eight seconds of ‘Phantom Limb’ this is an album that sends haunting overtures injecting into the veins and sending you on a trip to wherever you please. The dual harmonies of Jerry Cantrell and William DuVall are the essence of the AIC sound with Cantrell’s guitar flowing along in a wave of thick heavy chords. A sprinkling of acoustic-fronted tracks adds to the many dimensions within the group, but its Cantrell’s guitar that is given the freedom to let loose that makes this album what is. Purposeful, precise and calculated, this is what modern cutting edge Metal should sound like and AIC have surpassed themselves with this impressive release.

Proving that their last album was no fluke, Alice in Chains have reaffirmed their existence, unlike the ill fated dinosaurs, I feel the devil certainly put Alice In Chains here to spread the twisted message that Hell is most definitely the place to be and where all the cool kids hang out.

Alice In Chains – The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here9 out of 10

Track Listing:

  1. Hollow
  2. Pretty Done
  3. Stone
  4. Voices
  5. The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here
  6. Lab Monkey
  7. Low Ceiling
  8. Breath On A Window
  9. Scalpel
  10. Phantom Limb
  11. Hung On A Hook
  12. Choke